Skip to main content
Partner logo
Mobile Icon Link Mobile Icon Link Mobile Icon Link Gamecocks+

Oct. 30, 2005

Destin, Fla. – The South Carolina women’s golf team won its first team championship since claiming the 2002 Southeastern Conference Championship when it won the Chrysler Challenge in Destin, Fla., this weekend with a three-day score of 297-290-316=903. Carolina won the tournament by the narrowest of margins, as Florida made a final-round surge but fell one stroke short with a three-day score of 305-302-297=904.

The field consisted exclusively of teams from the Southeastern Conference and the Atlantic Coast Conference. Carolina’s three-day total of 903 ranks in a tie for 15th on the all-time school list for lowest tournament scores and was the lowest total since the team fired a 903 at the 2005 NCAA East Regional last spring. The championship marked the fourth tournament win under head coach Kristi Coggins, who led the Gamecocks to the aforementioned 2002 SEC Championship as well as titles at the 1999 Casa De Campo Collegiate and the 1997 FAU/Miami Preview Classic.

Junior Jenna Pearson tied with sophomore Whitney Simons for sixth place on the individual leader board, as Pearson carded a 70-72-83=225 and Simons finished with a 75-71-79=225. Pearson entered the final round of play as the tournament leader, but a final-round 69 helped Alabama’s Jenny Suh emerge with medalist honors.

Carolina seniors Erica Battle and Laura McCaslin both finished in the top 10 on the individual leader board, with Battle coming in eighth with a three-day score of 74-73-79=226 and McCaslin 10th at 78-74-75=227.

Playing as an individual with her score not counting toward the team total, sophomore Laura Raffo finished the event with a 73-76-87=236 to come in 28th overall, with teammate Camila Mori rounding out the Carolina effort by coming in 31st with an 81-76-83=240.

South Carolina puts a cap on the fall portion of its schedule when it competes at the Derby Invitational played at the Auburn University Club at Yarbrough Farms in Auburn, Ala., from Nov. 4-6.

2005 Chrysler InvitationalOct. 28-30, 2005The Raven Course (Destin, Fla.)Final Team Leader Board1.  South Carolina  297-290-316=9032.  Florida 305-302-297=9043.  Alabama 301-303-307=9114.  Louisiana State 309-303-304=9165.  Mississippi State   304-306-310=9206.  Florida State   310-303-315=9287.  Ole Miss    309-309-318=936
Gamecocks on the Individual Leader BoardT6 Jenna Pearson, South Carolina 70-72-83=225T6 Whitney Simons, South Carolina 75-71-79=225T8 Erica Battle, South Carolina 74-73-79=226T10 Laura McCaslin, South Carolina 78-74-75=227T28 *Laura Raffo, South Carolina 73-76-87=236T31 Camila Mori, South Carolina 81-76-83=240
South Carolina Women's GolfAll-Time Team Championships2005 Chrysler Challenge 1st of 7 teams2002 SEC Championship 1st of 12 teams1999 Casa de Campo Collegiate 1st of 13 teams1997 FAU/Miami Preview Classic 1st of 17 teams1993 Carolyn Cudone Intercollegiate 1st of 16 teams1991 Memphis Intercollegiate 1st of 14 teams1991 C.C. of Alabama Invitational 1st of 8 teams1990 James Madison Invitational 1st of 10 teams1990 Metro Conference Championship 1st of 5 teams1988 Lady Lion Invitational 1st of 10 teams1987 Woodbridge Collegiate 1st of 10 teams1987 Hudson Industries Invitational 1st of 14 teams1985 SC Women's Invitational 1st of 14 teams1982 Lady Gamecock Invitational 1st of 12 teams1981 Lady Gamecock Invitational 1st of 5 teams1981 Wake Forest Invitational 1st of 3 teams1980 Purdue Invitational 1st of 9 teams