Skip to main content
Partner logo
Mobile Icon Link Mobile Icon Link Mobile Icon Link Gamecocks+

June 6, 2007

COLUMBIA, S.C. – The Golf Coaches Association of America announced its PING Division I All-America teams Wednesday and University of South Carolina freshman George Bryan IV has been selected to the honorable mention list. This marks the third straight year that a Gamecock has attained All-America status and Bryan becomes the 17th golfer in school history to garner the honor.

Bryan, who hails from Chapin, S.C., also earned All-Southeast Region honors and was twice named the Southeastern Conference Golfer of the Week during his rookie season. He caps the 2006-07 campaign with 72.75 stroke average, the best of any Gamecock who competed in at least four events.

Bryan is the only Gamecock to compete in all 12 varsity events this season. He led Carolina by tying for 10th at the NCAA West Regional and his total score of 68-67-69=204 (-12) tied for the fourth-lowest in school history. Bryan shared second place at the Augusta State Invitational with a three-day score of 210 at Champions Retreat and also set a course record with an opening round 66. Bryan recorded a total of five top-20 finishes.

In 2006, senior Eirik Johansen was named honorable mention All-America. Current junior Mark Anderson earned third-team honors as a freshman in 2005.

Bryan and the Gamecocks tied for 11th at last week’s NCAA Championship in Williamsburg, Va. It marked South Carolina’s best finish since the 1998 season and matched the second-best showing in school history at the championship.

Division I PING All-America Teams

First Team
Rhys Davies, East Tennessee State
Billy Horschel, Florida
Dustin Johnson, Coastal Carolina
Chris Kirk, Georgia
Niklas Lemke, Arizona State
Jamie Lovemark, Southern California
Kyle Stanley, Clemson
Daniel Summerhays, Brigham Young
Brendon Todd, Georgia
Dawie van der Walt, Lamar

Second Team
Benjamin Alvarado, Arizona State
Charlie Beljan, New Mexico
Jonas Blixt, Florida State
Joseph Bramlett, Stanford
Roberto Castro, Georgia Tech
Kevin Chappell, UCLA
Rob Grube, Stanford
Brian Harman, Georgia
Michael Thompson, Alabama
Cameron Tringale, Georgia Tech

Third Team
Bronson Burgoon, Texas A&M
Derek Fathauer, Louisville
Matt Harmon, Michigan State
Colt Knost, SMU
Lucas Lee, UCLA
Brian Locke, Loyola Marymount
Zack Miller, Stanford
Matthew Savage, Stanford
Joel Sjoholm, Georgia State
Martin Ureta, North Carolina

Honorable Mention
Victor Almstrom, Minnesota
Oliver Bekker, Lamar
Louie Bishop, UC Davis
Matt Bortis, Texas
George Bryan IV, South Carolina
Jon Curran, Vanderbilt
Andrew DiBitetto, Charlotte
Oscar Floren, Texas Tech
Charles Ford, Tennessee
Aaron Goldberg, San Diego State
Chesson Hadley, Georgia Tech
Jason Kokrak, Xavier
Bronson LaCassie, Minnesota
Andrew Landry, Arkansas
Trent Leon, Oklahoma State
Daniel Lim, Stanford
Michael Manning, Augusta State
Pablo Martin, Oklahoma State
Adam Mitchell, Georgia
Brett Myers, Tulsa
Corey Nagy, Charlotte
Lindsey Renolds, Coastal Carolina
Matt Savage, Florida State
Michael Schachner, Duke
Gareth Shaw, East Tennessee State
Webb Simpson, Wake Forest
Tim Streng, Western Illinois
Zach Sucher, UAB
Jarred Texter, UNLV
Niall Turner, Minnesota
Mike Van Sickle, Marquette
Dan Woltman, Wisconsin