Skip to main content
Partner logo
Mobile Icon Link Mobile Icon Link Mobile Icon Link Gamecocks+

Nov. 11, 2009

University of South Carolina linebacker Eric Norwood is one of eight semifinalist named by the Pacific Club IMPACT Foundation for the 2009 Lott Trophy, it was announced today. The list includes two safeties, two defensive tackles, two linebackers and two defensive ends.

For the latest on Eric Norwood’s achievements, check out the website

Norwood has played in all 48 games over the past three seasons and has made 35 consecutive starts. He has recorded 236 tackles over his three-plus seasons and was named the Harris Pastides Scholar Athlete Award winner for football at the spring game in April. This season he leads the SEC with seven sacks and is third in the league with 10.5 total tackles for loss. He also leads the team with two interceptions. A regular on special teams, He has also blocked three kicks in 2009.

A 6-1, 252-pounder from Acworth, Ga., Norwood has been named a midseason first-team All-American by Phil Steele, Sports Illustrated and Sporting News, one of 12 semifinalists for the Lombardi Award, and one of 16 semifinalists for both the Bednarik Award and the Butkus Award. He is the SEC’s active leader in both sacks and tackles for loss. A two-time first-team all-SEC pick, Norwood holds the school record with 29.0 career sacks; he passed Gamecock standout Andrew Provence in the win over Ole Miss on Sept. 24 with his 27th career sack. He also has 53.5 tackles for loss, which gives him the all-time lead in that category at South Carolina.

In addition to Norwood, the semifinalists include safety Eric Berry of Tennessee, safety Taylor Mays of Southern California, defensive tackle Ndaumkong Suh of Nebraska, defensive tackle Gerald McCoy of Oklahoma, linebacker Rolando McClain of Alabama, defensive end Sam Acho of Texas and defensive end Jerry Hughes of TCU.

Ballots will be sent to over 300 members of the Lott Trophy National Voter Panel, a list that includes Hall of Fame coaches and players, select members of the media and distinguished business leaders throughout the country.

The four finalists will be announced Nov. 24 and they will travel to the sixth annual Lott Trophy Banquet Dec. 13 where the winner will be announced.