Skip to main content
Partner logo
Mobile Icon Link Mobile Icon Link Mobile Icon Link Gamecocks+
Thornwell Named Preseason All-SEC By League Coaches
Men's Basketball  . 

Thornwell Named Preseason All-SEC By League Coaches

Nov. 10, 2016

COLUMBIA, S.C. – The Southeastern Conference unveiled its 13th annual men’s basketball coaches preseason All-SEC teams on Thursday, where it was announced that South Carolina senior guard Sindarius Thornwell was named to the First Team. It marks the third-straight season that Thornwell has garnered preseason honors, as he was named to the second team prior to his sophomore and junior campaigns.

Thornwell is Carolina’s top returning scorer this season after posting 13.4 points per game as a junior. He is also the SEC’s leader in scoring among active players with 1,278 career points. Thornwell has never missed a game during his career in the Garnet and Black, starting all 101 contests. He has six career double-doubles entering his senior season, and has led or shared the team lead in scoring 33 times during his career. Following the 2016 campaign, Thornwell was named to the SEC’s All-Defensive Team, while he was also named to his third SEC Academic Honor Roll.

Ten different schools are represented on the two preseason teams with Kentucky having four selections while Arkansas, Florida, Georgia and Vanderbilt have two selections each. In all, 31 different players received votes for the coaches’ teams.

The coaches’ preseason All-SEC first and second teams consist of a minimum of eight players on each squad, voted on by the SEC head men’s basketball coaches. No ties were broken and no predicted order of finish was made.

A list of the 2017 SEC Men’s Basketball Coaches Preseason All-SEC teams follow:

First Team All-SEC
Moses Kingsley ââ’¬” Arkansas, F, 6-10, 230, Sr., Abuja, Nigeria
J.J. Frazier ââ’¬” Georgia, G, 5-10, 155, Sr., Glennville, Ga.
Yante Maten ââ’¬” Georgia, F, 6-8, 240, Jr., Pontiac, Mich.
Edrice “Bam” Adebayo ââ’¬” Kentucky, F, 6-10, 260, Fr., Little Washington, N.C.
De’Aaron Fox ââ’¬” Kentucky, G, 6-3, 187, Fr., Houston, Texas
Quinndary Weatherspoon ââ’¬” Mississippi State, G, 6-4, 202, So., Canton, Miss.
Sindarius Thornwell ââ’¬” South Carolina, G, 6-5, 211, Sr., Lancaster, S.C.
Tyler Davis ââ’¬” Texas A&M, C, 6-10, 270, So., Plano, Texas

Second Team All-SEC
Dusty Hannahs ââ’¬” Arkansas, G, 6-3, 210, R-Sr., Little Rock, Ark.
KeVaughn Allen ââ’¬” Florida, G, 6-2, 183, So., Little Rock, Ark.
John Egbunu ââ’¬” Florida, C, 6-11, 255, R-Jr., Bauchi, Nigeria
Isaiah Briscoe ââ’¬” Kentucky, G, 6-3, 210, So., Newark, N.J.
Malik Monk ââ’¬” Kentucky, G, 6-3, 200, Fr., Lepanto, Ark.
Antonio Blakeney ââ’¬” LSU, G, 6-4, 190, So., Sarasota, Fla.
Sebastian Saiz ââ’¬” Ole Miss, F, 6-9, 240, Sr., Madrid, Spain
Matthew Fisher-Davis ââ’¬” Vanderbilt, G/F, 6-5, 185, Jr., Charlotte, N.C.
Luke Kornet ââ’¬” Vanderbilt, F, 7-1, 250, Sr., Lantana, Texas