Skip to main content
Partner logo
Mobile Icon Link Mobile Icon Link Mobile Icon Link Gamecocks+
Huskey And Stevens Named PING All-Region
Men's Golf  . 

Huskey And Stevens Named PING All-Region

May 27, 2017

SUGAR GROVE, Ill. — Junior Keenan Huskey and sophomore Scott Stevens were named PING All-Southeast Region by the Golf Coaches Association of America on Saturday afternoon. Huskey is making his second straight appearance on the team, while Stevens is making his debut.

Huskey led the team in virtually every major statistical category during the 2016-17 season. His 70.63 18-hole scoring average ranked 16th in the nation. The Greenville, S.C., native’s par-5 scoring average (4.56) and his 146 birdies both rank in the top-10 nationally. Huskey finished outside of the top-30 just once in 12 tournaments. The team captain led the team with 21 rounds of par or better and notched single-season highs for top-five finishes (4) and top-10 finishes (6). Huskey logged a pair of 64s in the fall in separate tournaments, tying for the fourth lowest 18-hole score in program history.

Stevens followed up a rock solid freshman campaign with a stellar sophomore campaign in 2016-17. His 71.26 18-hole scoring average ranked 51st in the country. The Chattanooga, Tenn., native had three top-five finishes and tied Huskey for the team lead with six top-10 showings. Stevens earned runner-up medalist honors at the Maui Jim Intercollegiate back in November after carding a 15-under score of 198, the third-lowest 54-hole score in school history.

Huskey (T-9th) and Stevens (T-23rd) tallied top-25 finishes in the stroke play portion of the SEC Championship in late April en route to each earning Second Team All-SEC honors. They became the 13th and 14th All-SEC selections in head coach Bill McDonald’s 10 seasons leading the Gamecocks.

Of the 27 players on this year’s squad, 20 of them hail from the Southeastern Conference.

2017 PING All-Southeast Region Team
Dawson Armstrong, Lipscomb
John Augenstein, Vanderbilt
Sam Burns, LSU
Trace Crowe, Auburn
Cristobal Del Solar, Florida State
Luis Gagne, LSU
Harry Ellis, Florida State
Broc Everett, Augusta
Lee Hodges, Alabama
Sam Horsfield, Florida
Theo Humphrey, Vanderbilt
Keenan Huskey, South Carolina
Phillip Knowles, North Florida
Patrick Martin, Vanderbilt
Cooper Musselman, Kentucky
Gordon Neale, Florida
Peng Pichaikool, Mississippi State
Brandon Pierce, LSU
Davis Riley, Alabama
Joey Savoie, Middle Tennessee
Matthias Schwab, Vanderbilt
Greyson Sigg, Georgia
Scott Stevens, South Carolina
Braden Thornberry, Ole Miss
Alejandro Tosti, Florida
David Wicks, Jacksonville
Ben Wolcott, Ole Miss