Skip to main content
Partner logo
Mobile Icon Link Mobile Icon Link Mobile Icon Link Gamecocks+
Kelley to Represent Gamecocks in Nashville as SEC Legend
Men's Basketball  . 

Kelley to Represent Gamecocks in Nashville as SEC Legend

South Carolina Athletics

Former Carolina standout scored 1,488 points in his career and is third all-time with 510 assists

BIRMINGHAM, Ala. – The Southeastern Conference announced today its SEC Basketball Legends group that will be honored at the SEC Men’s Basketball Tournament March 8-12 at Bridgestone Arena in Nashville, Tenn. Gamecock great Tre’ Kelley will represent Carolina in the Music City.

The men’s basketball legends program began in 1999 with classes honored every year with the exception of 2020, 2021 and 2022. Kelley was originally selected as an SEC Legend in 2020 but the conference tournament in Nashville was cancelled that year due to COVID. The program is officially back now after being on hiatus due to the pandemic.

Kelley scored 1,488 points during his Gamecock career, and is third all-time at Carolina with 510 career assists. He also holds the single season record with 38 starts during the 2006 campaign, when he led the Gamecocks to their second straight NIT Championship. Kelley is T-3rd all-time with 134 games played.

He led Carolina in assists each of his final three seasons in the Garnet and Black, dishing out a career high 174 during his junior season, the second most ever in a single season at Carolina. Kelley earned All-SEC First-Team accolades in 2007 from both the coaches and media and went on to have a successful career overseas where he played for 13 seasons. He is now the head boys coach at his alma mater, Dunbar High School, in Washington D.C.

Each SEC Basketball Legend will be recognized at halftime of his institution’s first game of the tournament.

2023 SEC Basketball Legends Presented By Allstate®

ALABAMA – Jerry Harper, 1953-56

ARKANSAS – Nick Davis, 1997-99

AUBURN – Layton Johns, 1960-63

FLORIDA – Chris Richard, 2003-07

GEORGIA – Rod Cole, 1987-91

KENTUCKY – Vernon Hatton, 1956-58

LSU – Collis Temple III, 1999-2003

OLE MISS – Eric Laird, 1982-85

MISSISSIPPI STATE – Jerry Jenkins, 1973-75

MISSOURI – Steve Stipanovich, 1979-83

SOUTH CAROLINA – Tre’ Kelley, 2003-07

TENNESSEE – Lang Wiseman, 1989-93

TEXAS A&M – David Britton, 1978-1980

VANDERBILT – Butch Feher, 1973-76