Skip to main content
Partner logo
Mobile Icon Link Mobile Icon Link Mobile Icon Link Gamecocks+

March 27, 2003

Birmingham, Ala. – Twenty-four student-athletes, one male and one female from each Southeastern Conference institution, have been chosen by their respective schools as recipients of an SEC Post-graduate scholarship and are finalists for the 2002-2003 H. Boyd McWhorter SEC Scholar-Athlete of the Year Award, Commissioner Mike Slive announced Thursday. South Carolina’s male finalist this year is track and field athlete Garry Martin and this year’s female finalist is women’s soccer player Kanika McAlpine.

Each finalist will recieve a $5,000 scholarship for post-graduate studies. The SEC Faculty Athletics Representatives Boyd McWhorter Selection Committee will choose the outstanding male and female student-athlete and each will receive a $10,000 post-graduate scholarship, provided by the ALLTEL Corporation.

“The Southeastern Conference and the ALLTEL Corporation are proud to recognize these 24 student-athletes for their accomplishments in their academics and athletics endeavors,” said SEC Commissioner Mike Slive. “These student-athletes have shown everyone what it takes to be a winner in every aspect of life. This group of student-athletes are excellent representatives of their universities and communities.”

The SEC Scholar-Athlete of the Year Awards were first presented in 1986. The award was renamed the H. Boyd McWhorter SEC Scholar-Athlete of the Year in May 1990 to honor the former commissioner who served the conference from 1972-86.

The award will be presented to the two winners in May at the SEC Spring Meetings in Destin, Fla.


ALABAMA Kristin Sterner , Gymnastics, Ionia, Mich.
ARKANSAS Libby Windell, Volleyball, Gresham, Ore.
AUBURN Celeste Troche, Golf , Asuncion, Paraguay
FLORIDA Lindsey Miner, Gymnastics, Englewood, Colo.
GEORGIA Carolyn Cayard, Soccer, Spring, Texas
KENTUCKY Simidele Adeagbo, Track and Field, Louisville, Ky.
LSU Michelle Coryell, Swimming and Diving, Baton Rouge, La.
OLE MISS Lindsay Price, Softball, Terry, Miss.
MISSISSIPPI STATE Martha Hudsonpillar, Track and Field, Mission, Texas
SOUTH CAROLINA Kanika McAlpine, Soccer, Huntsville, Ala.
TENNESSEE Kacey Montgomery, Rowing, Apopka, Fla.
VANDERBILT Sarah Riske, Tennis, McMurray, Pa.


ALABAMA Terrance Meade, Basketball, Scottsboro, Ala.
ARKANSAS Daniel Lincoln, Track and Field, Fayetteville, Ark.
AUBURN Dontarrious Thomas, Football, Perry, Ga.
FLORIDA Matt Bonner, Basketball, Concord, N.H.
GEORGIA Jon Stinchcomb, Football, Lilburn, Ga.
KENTUCKY Thomas Morgan, Track and Field, Lexington, Ky.
LSU Martin Latz, Swimming and Diving, Staffanstorp, Sweden
OLE MISS Alex Hartman, Tennis, Klippan, Sweden
MISSISSIPPI STATE Joey Collums, Baseball, Germantown, Tenn.
SOUTH CAROLINA Garry Martin, Track and Field, Marshfield, Wisc.
TENNESSEE Kevin Thompson, Track and Field, Germantown, Tenn.
VANDERBILT Mike Martin, Football, Tampa, Fla.