Skip to main content
Partner logo
Mobile Icon Link Mobile Icon Link Mobile Icon Link Gamecocks+

May 20, 2003

Columbia, S.C. – The University of South Carolina men’s golf team is one of eight schools to represent the Southeastern Conference in the 2003 NCAA Men’s Golf Championship in Stillwater, Okla. on May 27-30. The eight SEC schools competing in the national tournament is the most in conference history. The SEC will have the most teams of any other conference participating in this year’s NCAA Championship. The ACC and Pac-10 each sent six schools.

South Carolina advanced to its 12th NCAA Championship after shooting a three-round score of 873 to tie for seventh at the NCAA East Regional in Auburn, Ala. The last time the Gamecocks advanced to the NCAA Championships was in 2001 at the Duke University Club in Durham, N.C. That year the Gamecocks placed 20th. The best finish for South Carolina in the NCAA Championships was a tie for eighth in 1988.

South Carolina’s NCAA Championship lineup has been used five times throughout the season. The lineup of Eirik Johansen (2003 First Team All-SEC), Martin Rominger, West Streib, Alex Hamilton and Nash Elliott have posted two third place finishes (Seminole Intercollegiate and Palmetto-Cleveland Golf Collegiate). This is the same quintet that posted a fifth place finish at the 2003 Southeastern Conference Championship and tied for seventh at the NCAA East Regional in Auburn, Ala.

This season has been comprised of primarily freshmen and sophomores. Sophomores Alex Hamilton and Martin Rominger and freshman Eirik Johansen have played in all 12 South Carolina tournaments and will compete in the 2003 NCAA Championships. Redshirt freshman West Streib has also contributed to the success of South Carolina, playing in nine tournaments. Streib and Johansen both posted top 10 finishes in the 2003 SEC Championships. Elliott, playing in eight tournaments this season, is the lone Gamecock who played in the NCAA Championship back in 2001.

Karsten Creek (par 72, 7,301 yards) will host the four-day event. Live scoring will be available via the internet at

The 2003 NCAA Championship Field
(East Regional Winners)
ClemsonGeorgia TechFloridaTennesseeDukeWake ForestAugusta StateSouth CarolinaVanderbiltAuburn

(Central Regional Winners)Oklahoma StateIllinoisNorth Carolina StateNorth CarolinaTexasKentuckySMUMinnesotaArkansasWichita State

(West Regional Winners)UCLAArizonaUNLVGeorgiaArizona StateNew MexicoWashingtonSouthern CaliforniaOregonSan Diego State