Skip to main content
Partner logo
Mobile Icon Link Mobile Icon Link Mobile Icon Link Gamecocks+

Nov. 20, 2003

Columbia, S.C. – The Southeastern Conference announced the volleyball postseason awards Thursday night at the opening banquet for the 2003 SEC Volleyball Tournament and South Carolina’s Lynae Vanden Hull was named Co-Freshman of the Year and named to the All-Freshman Team. Arkansas’ Denitza Koleva shares the Freshman of the Year honor with Vanden Hull. This marks the first year the conference has chosen an All-SEC Freshman team.

Vanden Hull, a native of Papillion, Neb., led USC in kills with 308 and averaged 3.05 kills per game. In SEC matches alone, the 6-2 rightside blocker recorded 183 kills, 3.33 kills per game and is ranked among the conference’s top ten in this category. The redshirt freshman also ranks third on the team in total blocks.

Vanden Hull has posted 12 double-figure kill matches including a team season high 27 in the Oct. 8 match against Kentucky. The 2002 Papillion La Vista graduate’s 27 kills was just one shy of tying the school match record of 28 in addition to being the third highest kills recorded in the SEC this season.

South Carolina is hosting the 2003 SEC Tournament Nov. 21-23. The Gamecocks will face Alabama at 6 p.m. on Friday, Nov. 21. USC is 12-16 overall and finished 6-10 in the conference to earn a sixth seed in the tournament.

Coach of the Year: Chris Poole, Arkansas
Player of the Year: Aury Cruz, Florida
Defensive Player of the Year: Jenni Casper, Kentucky
Co-Freshmen of the Year: Lynae Vanden Hull, South Carolina; Denitza Koleva, Arkansas
Scholar Athlete of the Year: Erin Price, Alabama

First Team All-SEC
Sara Kincaid, Arkansas
Aury Cruz, Florida
Erin Heffner, Alabama
Jane Collymore, Florida
Benavia Jenkins, Florida
Roberta Tarnauskaite, Arkansas
Libero: Jenni Casper, Kentucky

Second Team All-SEC
Julia Pretruschke, Georgia
Jennifer Haaser, Arkansas
Sherri Williams, Florida
Regan Hood, LSU
Alexandra Oquendo, Georgia
Kristin Andre, Tennessee
Lauren Moscovic, Florida
Libero: Jen Mandes, Florida

All-Freshman Team
Sarah Blum, Tennessee
Denitza Koleva, Arkansas
Lynae Vanden Hull, South Carolina
Melissa Popp, Kentucky
Lauren Leaumont, LSU
Kele Brewer, Arkansas
Libero: Jenni Casper, Kentucky