Skip to main content
Partner logo
Mobile Icon Link Mobile Icon Link Mobile Icon Link Gamecocks+

March 9, 2004

South Carolina junior forward Carlos Powell has been named to the Associated Press All-Southeastern Conference men’s basketball team released today. The SEC Coaches awards will be announced tomorrow.

Powell, a native of Florence, S.C., is averaging 12.4 ppg and 6.3 rpg – both tops on the team. He has started 27 games, playing in all 30 games this season. He has helped lead the Gamecocks to a 21-9 record with an 8-8 record in the SEC. USC finished third in the SEC Eastern Division and will play Arkansas in the First Round of the SEC Tournament on Thursday in Atlanta at 3:15 pm.

It is a first time honor for Powell. He is the second player under Odom to receive All-SEC honors as Jamel Bradley was named to the SEC Coaches third team in 2002. He is the first Gamecock to be named to an AP All-SEC team since Marius Petravicius was named third team in 2001.

The Associated Press All-SEC men’s basketball team released Tuesday, with name, school, position, height and class (u-unanimous choice to first team).

First Team

* u-Lawrence Roberts, Mississippi State, C, 6-9, Jr.

* Matt Frieje, Vanderbilt, F, 6-9, Sr.

* Timmy Bowers, Mississippi State, G, 6-2, Sr.

* Justin Reed, Mississippi, F, 6-8, Sr.

* Jaime Lloreda, LSU, F, 6-9, Sr.

* Anthony Robertson, Florida, G, 6-1, So.

Second Team

* Gerald Fitch, Kentucky, G, 6-3, Sr.

* Scooter McFadgon, Tennessee, G, 6-5, Jr.

* Erik Daniels, Kentucky, F, 6-8, Sr.

* Matt Walsh, Florida, F, 6-6, So.

* Rashad Wright, Georgia, G, 6-3, Sr.

* Kennedy Winston, Alabama, F, 6-6, So.

Third Team

* Chuck Hayes, Kentucky, F, 6-6, Jr.

* Cliff Hawkins, Kentucky, G, 6-1, Sr.

* Marco Killingworth, Auburn, F, 6-7, Jr.

* David Lee, Florida, F, 6-9, Jr.

* Carlos Powell, South Carolina, F, 6-7, Jr.

* Player of the Year – Lawrence Roberts, Mississippi State.

* Coach of the Year – Rick Stansbury, Mississippi State.

* Newcomer of the Year – Lawrence Roberts, Mississippi State.