Skip to main content
Partner logo
Mobile Icon Link Mobile Icon Link Mobile Icon Link Gamecocks+

Nov. 18, 2004

Gainesville, Fla. – The Southeastern Conference announced the 2004 SEC awards Thursday night at the annual SEC Volleyball Tournament banquet on the campus of the University of Florida, site of the tournament. South Carolina’s Shonda Cole was named Second Team All-SEC. Cole is the 21st Gamecock to earn an All-SEC honor since 1992.

The sophomore outside hitter leads the team in conference matches in kills and kills per game with 207 and 3.83 respectively. In overall matches, Cole leads with 344 kills and 3.95 kills per game. The Kings Mountain, N.C. native also ranks sixth among the SEC leaders in kills per game.

Coach of the Year honors went to Rob Patrick of Tennessee, who guided the Lady Vols to their first ever SEC Title. The Lady Vols share the champion title with the Florida Gators as both teams went 15-1 in conference play.

USC will open SEC Tournament play Friday night at 7 p.m. against No. 1 seed Florida. The Gators swept USC in both matches during the season. The Gamecocks are 12-13 and finished 5-11 in conference play while the Gators are 23-3. The Gators lead the series against the Gamecocks 32-6. In the SEC Tournament, the Gamecocks have faced the Gators only twice before and both outcomes resulted in losses.

This marks the 12th straight SEC tournament for the Gamecocks under Head Coach Kim Hudson. The match can be heard live via the Internet at

2004 SEC Volleyball Awards
Coach of the Year: Rob Patrick, Tennessee
Player of the Year: Jane Collymore, Florida
Defensive Player of the Year: Amy Morris, Tennessee
Freshman of the Year: Angie McGinnis, Florida
Scholar-Athlete of the Year: Jennifer Haaser, Arkansas

First Team All-SEC
Erin Heffner, Alabama
Jane Collymore, Florida
Michelle Chatman, Florida
Sherri Williams, Florida
Alexandra Oquendo, Georgia
Kristen Andre, Tennessee
Julie Knytych, Tennessee
Amy Morris, Tennessee

Second Team All-SEC
Julie Farley, Alabama
Jennifer Haaser, Arkansas
Angie McGinnis, Florida
Julia Petruschke, Georgia
Margot Wallace, Georgia
Shonda Cole, South Carolina
Yuliya Stoyanova, Tennessee
Michelle Piantadosi, Tennessee

All-Freshman Team
Brigitte Slack, Alabama
Ashley Miller, Arkansas
Jessica Dorrell, Arkansas
Whitney Jacob, Auburn
Marcie Hampton, Florida
Angie McGinnis, Florida
Yuliya Stoyanova, Tennessee