Skip to main content
Partner logo
Mobile Icon Link Mobile Icon Link Mobile Icon Link Gamecocks+

Dec. 1, 2005

South Carolina senior Josh Alcala received an invitation to the 2006 adidas Major League Soccer Player Combine, the league office announced on Wednesday. Alcala is among 54 seniors from NCAA Division I men’s soccer teams selected to compete in event, held Jan. 12-15 at the Home Depot Center in Carson, Calif.

Alcala capped an outstanding senior season by earning first-team All-Conference USA honors. He finished as the Gamecocks’ second-leading scorer with 23 points on eight goals and a team-best nine assists this season. The Buda, Texas, native also led all C-USA players in scoring during league play, compiling 18 points on seven goals and eight assists. After starting the season with an 0-5-0 record, South Carolina rallied to go 12-2-2 in its last 16 matches. Alcala scored all 23 of his points during that stretch. A four-year starter, he helped USC to three NCAA Tournament appearances during his career and the Conference USA Tournament Championship in 2005.

The coaching staffs and general managers of all 12 MLS teams will attend the combine to scout talent before making their SuperDraft selections at the Pennsylvania Convention Center in Philadelphia on Friday, Jan. 20. Of the 48 players chosen in last year’s draft, 39 had participated in the combine the week before.

This year’s initial list of combine participants was selected by a panel of Division I coaches representing all conferences. The college coaches nominated and voted for players in conjunction with MLS coaches.

* Finalists for 2005 Missouri Athletic Club’s Hermann Trophy

University of Akron
M Yohann Mauger
F Ross McKenzie

Birmingham-Southern College

F Karim Dietz

Bradley University
GK Chris Dunsheath

California State University, Northridge
M Dan Paladini

University of California (Cal-Berkeley)
F Calen Carr
GK Eric Kronberg
D Tyson Wahl

University of California, Los Angeles (UCLA)
D Jordan Harvey

Clemson University
D Justin Moore

University of Connecticut
D Willis Forko
M Mpho Moloi

Creighton University
M Matt Wieland

University of Dayton
F Omar Jarun

Drake University
D Cory Farabi

Duke University
M Blake Camp
M Danny Kramer

Eastern Illinois University
F Jimmy Klatter

George Mason University
D Anthony Noriega

Georgetown University
D Jeff Curtin

Indiana University
F Mike Ambersley
*M Brian Plotkin

University of Kentucky
GK Andy Gruenbaum

University of Maryland
D Kenny Bertz
*F Jason Garey
D Chris Lancos

University of New Mexico
*F Jeff Rowland
M Lance Watson

North Carolina State University
*F Aaron King
D John Queeley

The Ohio State University
GK Ray Burse
D Kyle Veris

Old Dominion University
F Brian Civilikas
D Trevor McEachron

Oral Roberts University
M Jorge Flor
F David Leung

Oregon State University
F Ryan Johnson

Penn State University
M Brian Devlin
M David Walters

Princeton University
M Darren Spicer

Santa Clara University
F Kelechi Igwe

Southern Methodist University
M David Chun
F Duke Hashimoto

St. John’s University
M Jeff Carroll
*F Matt Groenwald

St. Louis University
D Danny Wynn

University of South Carolina
M Josh Alcala

Temple University
F Tony Donatelli

University of Tulsa
F Kyle Brown
D Daniel Wasson

Virginia Commonwealth University
D Stephen Shirley
F Dominic Oduro

Wake Forest University
*M Justin Moose

University of Washington
M Mike Chabala