Skip to main content
Partner logo
Mobile Icon Link Mobile Icon Link Mobile Icon Link Gamecocks+

Feb. 17, 2008

WINSTON-SALEM, N.C. – The University of South Carolina men’s tennis team suffered its first loss of the season on Sunday, falling to No. 17 Wake Forest, 4-2, at the University Indoor Tennis Center. Carolina won the doubles point in the match, while freshman Johannes Pulsfort picked up the lone singles victory for the Gamecocks. With the loss, USC falls to 6-1 for the year.

Carolina won at both No. 1 and No. 3 doubles. The team of senior Yevgeny Supeko and sophomore Diego Cubas captured an 8-6 victory at No. 1, upsetting the 45th-ranked team of Mariusz Adamski and Carolos Salmon. At No. 3, redshirt junior Jaime Cuellar and sophomore Ivan Cressoni defeated Iain Atkinson and Charles Sartor in a tight match at 9-7 to secure the doubles point for the Gamecocks. The 21st-ranked team of Cory Parr and Steven Forman proved too strong for Carolina’s duo of sophomore Pedro Campos and Pulsfort at the No. 2 position, taking the match, 8-4.

The Demon Deacons dominated singles play, as Pulsfort captured the lone Carolina victory at No. 5, defeating Jason Morgenstern in straight sets, 6-3, 6-2. Campos battled at the No. 2 position, taking the first set 6-2, however, Forman regrouped to captured two straight 6-3 sets to take the match. Supeko, Cubas and Cuellar each suffered a loss in singles play.

Carolina returns to action on Friday, Feb. 22, hosting Elon in the home outdoor opener at 2 p.m. at the Sam Daniels Tennis Facility.

Complete results are listed below.

1. #64 Cory Parr (WFU) d. Yevgeny Supeko, (SC) 6-3, 6-3
2. #91 Steven Forman (WFU) d. #74 Pedro Campos (SC) 2-6, 6-3,6-3
3. Mariusz Adamski (WFU) d. Diego Cubas (SC) 6-4, 6-4
4. Jonathan Wolff (WFU) d. Jaime Cuellar (SC) 6-1, 6-1
5. Johannes Pulsfort (SC) d. Jason Morgenstern (WFU) 6-3, 6-2
6. Iain Atkinson (WFU) d. Ivan Cressoni (SC) 5-7, 6-1, 1-1 DNF
Order of finish: 4, 1, 5, 3, 2*

1. Yevgeny Supeko/Diego Cubas (SC) d. #45 Mariusz Adamski/Carolos Salmon (WFU) 8-6
2. #21 Cory Parr/Steven Forman (WFU) d. Pedro Campos/Johannes Pulsfort (SC) 8-4
3. Jaime Cuellar/Ivan Cressoni (SC) d. Iain Atkinson/Charles Sartor (WFU) 9-7
Order of finish: 1, 2, 3*
* = Clinching match