Skip to main content
Partner logo
Mobile Icon Link Mobile Icon Link Mobile Icon Link Gamecocks+

Nov. 29, 2010

BIRMINGHAM, Ala. – South Carolina outside hitter Juliette Thévenin earned a spot on the Southeastern Conference All-Freshman Team, the league announced on Monday. Thévenin becomes the third Gamecock to gain the honor since it was introduced in 2005.

From Mont-sur-Marchinne, Belgium, Thévenin ranked as the only freshman in the top 10 in the SEC in kills per set, standing fourth with a 3.65 kills average in league play and third with 3.59 kills per set during the year. Also among the league leaders in service aces, she was one of three players to stand in the top 10 in both kills and aces. The fourth Gamecock to lead the team in kills and aces as a freshman, Thévenin hit .224 on the year, second among players with over 300 attacks. She also ranked second in digs per set at 2.35.

Thévenin now joins Marija Milosevic and Megan Laughlin as South Carolina volleyball players who made the SEC All-Freshman Team.

Top-ranked Florida, who completed the first 20-0 perfect season since the SEC went to a double round-robin schedule, boasts of the SEC Coach of the Year Mary Wise and Player of the Year Kelly Murphy. Kentucky’s Stephanie Klefot took home SEC Libero of the Year accolades, while LSU’s Desiree Elliott claimed SEC Freshman of the Year honors. Sharing the Scholar-Athlete of the Year award is Tennessee’s Nikki Fowler and Kentucky’s Lauren Rapp.

2010 SEC Volleyball Awards

Player of the Year: Kelly Murphy, Florida
Libero of the Year: Stephanie Klefot, Kentucky
Freshman of the Year: Desiree Elliott, LSU
Scholar-Athletes of the Year: Nikki Fowler, Tennessee, and Lauren Rapp, Kentucky
Coach of the Year: Mary Wise, Florida

First-Team All-SEC
Lauren Bledsoe, Florida
Kelly Murphy, Florida
Callie Rivers, Florida
Lauren Rapp, Kentucky
Angela Bensend, LSU
Desiree Elliott, LSU
Regina Thomas, Mississippi
Nikki Fowler, Tennessee
Kayla Jeter, Tennessee

Second-Team All-SEC
Kayla Fitterer, Alabama
Jasmine Norton, Arkansas
Morgan Johns, Auburn
Cassandra Anderson, Florida
Kristy Jaeckel, Florida
Valentina Gonzalez, Georgia
Stephanie Klefot, Kentucky
Michele Williams, LSU
Ashley Newsome, Mississippi State
Leah Hinkey, Tennessee

SEC All-Freshman Team
Raymariely Santos, Arkansas
Camila Jersonsky, Auburn
Chanel Brown, Florida
Whitney Billings, Kentucky
Desiree Elliott, LSU
Juliette Thévenin, South Carolina
Kelsey Robinson, Tennessee