Skip to main content
Partner logo
Mobile Icon Link Mobile Icon Link Mobile Icon Link Gamecocks+
Gamecocks Combine to Earn Eight NCEA All-America Selections
Equestrian  . 

Gamecocks Combine to Earn Eight NCEA All-America Selections

March 25, 2014

7390262.jpeg 7411677.jpeg

COLUMBIA, S.C. – Seven Gamecock equestrians have been named to the National Collegiate Equestrian Association’s (NCEA) 2014 All-America class, it was announced today.

This year’s class is headlined by South Carolina junior Katherine Schmidt, who earned a pair of First Team All-America honors. She was named First Team All-American by the NCEA in equitation on the flat and equitation over fences. In just three seasons as a Gamecock, Schmidt now has a total of six All-America honors from the NCEA. She is the only Gamecock this year to be selected as a First Team All-American.

“I’m extremely proud of our All-Americans this year and couldn’t be happier for this group,” South Carolina head coach Boo Major said. “This year’s team, not just our All-Americans, has worked extremely hard all season long, and I think they’ve helped push one another to continue getting better. It’s been really fun getting to watch this group compete, and I know it’s rewarding for our All-Americans to earn this recognition.”

A pair of Gamecocks tallied Second Team All-America honors as senior Johnna Letchworth earned the nod in horsemanship, while junior Cody McMillion was tabbed in reining. Letchworth becomes the first Gamecock to earn All-America honors in four different seasons.

Four Gamecocks earned Honorable Mention All-America honors. Samantha Smith (equitation on the flat), Alexa Anthony (equitation over fences), Amber Henter (equitation over fences), and Layla Choate (reining) all earned honorable mentions.

1st Team
• Samantha Schaefer (Baylor)
• Katherine Schmidt (South Carolina)
• Liza Finsness (Georgia)
• Jorden Davis (Oklahoma State)

2nd Team
• Savannah Jenkins (Baylor)
• Mykaela VanSelus (Tennessee-Martin)
• Jennifer Mitchell (Baylor)
• Reid Rickett (Tennessee-Martin)

Honorable Mention
• Alicia Gasser (Baylor)
• Samantha Smith (South Carolina)
• Olivia Dorey (Georgia)
• Henley Adkins (Kansas State)
• Rachel Webster (Kansas State)

1st Team
• Katherine Schmidt (South Carolina)
• Samantha Schaefer (Baylor)
• Demi Stiegler (Auburn)
• Paige Parker (Baylor)

2nd Team
• Liza Finsness (Georgia)
• Sylvia de Toledo (Southern Methodist)
• Christina Lin (Auburn)
• Samantha Harrison (Oklahoma State)

Honorable Mention
• Schaefer Raposa (Southern Methodist)
• Alexis Graves (Kansas State)
• Abby O’Mara (Georgia)
• Alexa Anthony (South Carolina)
• Amber Henter (South Carolina)

1st Team
• Bryn Lindley (Baylor)
• Katy Krshka (Oklahoma State)
• Lindsey McMullen (Oklahoma State)
• Lauren Halvorson (Oklahoma State)

2nd Team
• Kelly Bovaird (Kansas State)
• Johnna Letchworth (South Carolina)
• Lauren DeVoe (New Mexico State)
• Heather Schmidt (Georgia)

Honorable Mention
• Rachel Kolb (Georgia)

1st Team
• Raivenne Scott (South Dakota State)
• Stephanie Rucci (Auburn)
• Taylor Brown (Fresno State)
• Brynn Larson (New Mexico State)

2nd Team
• Cody McMillion (South Carolina)
• Justine Peters (Oklahoma State)
• Tara Wilson (New Mexico State)
• McKenzie Lantz (Georgia)

Honorable Mention
• Claire Edwards (Baylor)
• Layla Choate (South Carolina)
• Jordan Cox (Kansas State)
• Jenna Blumer (Oklahoma State)
• Alexi Child (Texas Christian)
• Kara Guy (Kansas State)
• Shelby St. Hilaire (Texas Christian)
• Griffin Knight (Auburn)
• Laura Sumrall (Texas A&M)