Skip to main content
Partner logo
Mobile Icon Link Mobile Icon Link Mobile Icon Link Gamecocks+

Oct. 30, 2014

South Carolina goalkeeper Sabrina D’Angelo and defender Taylor Leach, both senior team captains, earned placement on the Capital One Academic All-District 4 Team, as selected by the College Sports Information Directors of America (CoSIDA), the organization announced today.

With the pair’s selection, the Gamecocks have had at least one player make the Academic All-District Team in 10 of the last 11 years. Today’s announcement marks the second recognition for D’Angelo and the first for Leach.

This season, D’Angelo has collected eight more shutouts to bring her career total to 27, second most in school history. With D’Angelo in net, the Gamecocks moved through non-conference allowing just one goal for the second season in a row and have seen just 11 total goals against this season. The Canadian has allowed less than a goal per game (0.779) over the course of her career.

Playing in front of D’Angelo in the centerback position, Leach has captained the defense to a 0.58 goals against average to lead the SEC and rank 13th nationally. The Gamecocks have allowed more than one goal just twice this season, a 3-2 win over No. 5 Florida and a 2-2 tie with No. 6 Texas A&M. The defender has also scored a pair of goals this season.

The CoSIDA Academic All-America program honors student-athletes for their combined performances athletically and in the classroom. To be eligible, a student-athlete must be a sophomore academically and athletically and a starter or significant contributor to the team. All-District honorees from the eight geographical districts will be placed on the national ballot.

The Gamecocks host Mississippi State in the regular-season finale tonight at 7 p.m. The SEC Network+ will have coverage of the contest at Stone Stadium.

2014 Capital One Academic All-District 4 Team
GK – Sabrina D’Angelo – South Carolina
M – Katelyn Reeve – Clemson
M – Merel van Dongen – Alabama
M – Dagny Byrnjarsdottir – Florida State
D – Abby Lutzenkirchen – Alabama
D – Emily Byorth – Clemson
D – Jennifer Marzi – North Florida
D – Danielle Gray – Kennesaw State
D – Taylor Leach – South Carolina
F – Laura Lee Smith – Alabama
F – Casie Ramsier – Auburn
F – Rachel Garcia – Georgia