Skip to main content
Partner logo
Mobile Icon Link Mobile Icon Link Mobile Icon Link Gamecocks+

Dec. 3, 2014

Full Release From NABC/WBCA, Including All Nominees

COLUMBIA, S.C. – The National Association of Basketball Coaches (NABC), the Women’s Basketball Coaches Association (WBCA) and Allstate Insurance Company today announced the 251 nominees for the 2015 Allstate NABC and WBCA Good Works Teams, which includes Gamecock men’s basketball junior forward Michael Carrera and South Carolina women’s basketball senior center Elem Ibiam. This community service based award recognizes a distinguished group of student-athletes who have demonstrated a commitment to enriching the lives of others and contributing to the greater good in their communities.

College sports information directors and basketball coaches across the country nominated student-athletes who exhibit exceptional leadership skills and an unwavering commitment to volunteerism. From the 158 NABC nominees and 93 WBCA nominees, distinguished voting panels will select two 10-member teams comprised of five student-athletes from the NCAA Division I level and five student-athletes from NCAA Divisions II, III and the NAIA. The final roster of 20 award recipients will be unveiled in February.

During his time at South Carolina, Carrera has participated in numerous community outreach events, including visiting the Ronald McDonald House, several events with the South Carolina Special Olympics, volunteering at Harvest Hope food bank, visiting with Boy Scout troops, and he participated in a wish with the Make-A-Wish Foundation, among his many other service events. Most recently Carrera and his teammates participated in the “8K In 8 Days,” an eight-day community outreach initiative that saw him visit Burnside Elementary School in Columbia for the Richland Country Sheriff’s Office Stars of Tomorrow Camp, while also hosting an event with his teammates for Special Olympics at Colonial Life Arena, and participating in an event at Fort Jackson for the military and their families.

Ibiam has been among her team’s most active participants in community service both with her teammates and on her own. She especially enjoys working with Columbia area youth, reading to students at local elementary schools and volunteering at events for Special Olympics and Children’s Chance. Ibiam has also been active with her teammates supporting head coach Dawn Staley’s Innersole organization, collecting shoes and assisting with other fundraising events. The Gamecocks annually participate in giving back to local families through Christmas giving, and Ibiam was among the first student-athletes to kick off the Athletics Department’s “Week of Giving” this week, participating in a panel discussion and a local middle school Monday morning.

Members of the Allstate NABC Good Works Team® will be invited by Allstate, an official corporate partner of the NCAA, to the 2015 NABC Convention and 2015 NCAA Men’s Final Four® in Indianapolis, where they will participate in a community project benefitting the host city. Members of the Allstate WBCA Good Works Team® will be recognized during the 2015 WBCA Convention and at the 2015 NCAA Women’s Final Four® in Tampa Bay, and will also participate in a local community project. Allstate is an official corporate partner of the NABC, WBCA and NCAA.

Former Duke University student-athlete, two-time NCAA champion and seven-time NBA All-Star Grant Hill will headline the Allstate NABC Good Works Team® voting panel, while WNBA basketball star Tamika Catchings, who played at the University of Tennessee, will serve on the Allstate WBCA Good Works Team® panel. In addition to Hollander, Hill and Catchings, the 2015 Allstate NABC and WBCA Good Works Teams® selection panel members include: former college basketball student-athletes Greg Anthony (UNLV), Mateen Cleaves (Michigan State) and Alana Beard (Duke); former head coaches Bobby Cremins (College of Charleston), Seth Greenberg (Virginia Tech), Marsha Sharp (Texas Tech) and Nell Fortner (Auburn); current college basketball coach Coquese Washington (Penn State); and media members Seth Davis (Sports Illustrated/CBS), Dana O’Neil (ESPN), Carolyn Peck (ESPN) and LaChina Robinson (ESPN/FOX).