Skip to main content
Partner logo
Mobile Icon Link Mobile Icon Link Mobile Icon Link Gamecocks+

March 31, 2015

Complete BracketGet Acrobat Reader

COLUMBIA, S.C. – The South Carolina equestrian team has earned the No. 3 seed at the 2015 National Collegiate Equestrian Association (NCEA) National Championship, it was announced today. This year’s championship runs April 16-18 at the Extraco Events Center in Waco, Texas.

“When you look at this year’s bracket, what stands out to me is the number of exciting matchups that we’ll get to see on the first day,” South Carolina head coach Boo Major. “We’re also on a very competitive side of the bracket. Our side of the bracket has two conference champions from this year in Fresno State and Baylor, and two other teams in TCU and New Mexico State that we didn’t compete against this season. Fresno State is having the best year in their program’s history and they’ve been an impressive team to watch, and New Mexico State is always one of the tougher teams to face in a neutral setting. I think this is probably the most competitive bracket from top to bottom that we’ve had for nationals.”

Along with the No. 3 seed, South Carolina (9-5, 4-2 SEC) receives a first round by at the national championship. On Friday, April 17, the Gamecocks will face the winner of the opening round meet between (6) Fresno State and (11) New Mexico State, which will take place on April 16.

This year marks the second year that the NCEA’s national champion will be determined using the dual meet competition format, which teams currently compete under during the regular season. Previously, hunt seat and western teams were split up in to separate brackets, and points were awarded based on where a team finished in each bracket.

South Carolina previously won the NCEA National Championship in 2005 and 2007. The Gamecocks finished as the national runner-up in 2006 and 2014.

Seeding For 2015 NCEA Championship
1. Georgia
2. Baylor
3. South Carolina
4. Texas A&M
5. Auburn
6. Fresno State
7. TCU
8. SMU
9. Kansas State
10. Oklahoma State
11. New Mexico State
12. UT-Martin

Opening-Round Matchups (Thursday, April 16)
(8) SMU vs. (9) Kansas State
(5) Auburn vs. (12) UT-Martin
(6) Fresno State vs. (11) New Mexico State
(7) TCU vs. (10) Oklahoma State

Quarterfinals (Friday, April 17)
(1) Georgia vs. (8) SMU or (9) Kansas State
(2) Baylor vs. (7) TCU or (10) Oklahoma State
(3) South Carolina vs. (6) Fresno State or (11) New Mexico State
(4) Texas A&M vs. (5) Auburn or (12) UT-Martin

The two semifinal meets will take place on the morning of Saturday, April 18. The championship meet will take place later that day.