Skip to main content
Partner logo
Mobile Icon Link Mobile Icon Link Mobile Icon Link Gamecocks+

July 16, 2015

Championship Bracket

PINEHURST, N.C. – South Carolina rising junior Katelyn Dambaugh continued her impressive showing at the North & South Women’s Amateur Championship on Thursday, advancing to the semifinals of the championship following two match-play victories at Pinehurst Country Club.

Opening Round (No. 1 Katelyn Dambaugh vs. No. 16 Courtney Zeng)
After splitting the first two holes, top-seeded Dambaugh grabbed a 1-up lead following her first birdie of the day on No. 3. Her lead grew to two though four holes, but bogeys on No. 6 and 8 dropped her even with Zeng. Another birdie on No. 9 gave Dambaugh a 1-up advantage as the two entered the turn.

A bogey by Zeng on No. 10 pushed Dambaugh’s lead to 2-up, and the match didn’t get any closer the rest of the way. Dambaugh went 3-up after Zeng’s fifth bogey of the morning on No. 12, and a par on No. 16 clinched a 3 and 2 victory for the South Carolina standout.

Quarterfinal Round (No. 1 Katelyn Dambaugh vs. No. 8 Munchin Keh)
Dambaugh took an early 1-up lead following a bogey by eighth-seeded Munchin Keh on No. 2. Keh evened the match with a birdie on No. 3, and another birdie at No. 5 gave her a 1-up advantage over Dambaugh. Keh’s bogey on No. 8 pulled Dambaugh even, and the two headed to the turn with the match all square.

Birdies on No. 10 and 11 put Dambaugh 2-up, and her lead grew to three following Keh’s third bogey of the afternoon on No. 12. Dambaugh’s first bogey of the match on No. 14 dropped her advantage to two before another bogey by Keh on No. 15 pushed the lead back to three. One hole later, Dambaugh clinched a 4 and 2 win with a par.

Semifinal Round (Friday, July 17 – 7 a.m.)
Dambaugh, who earned medalist honors on Wednesday for finishing with the tournament’s top stroke play score (+8), will be back on the course Friday at 7 a.m. to face Bethany Wu in the semifinals. The winner of the semifinal match will advance to Friday afternoon’s 18-hole final (12 p.m.).