Skip to main content
Partner logo
Mobile Icon Link Mobile Icon Link Mobile Icon Link Gamecocks+

Jan. 20, 2016


COLUMBIA, S.C. ââ’¬” South Carolina senior guard Tiffany Mitchell has been selected as one of 30 candidates for the 2015-16 Senior CLASS Award in collegiate women’s basketball, the organization announced on Tuesday. An acronym for Celebrating Loyalty and Achievement for Staying in School, the Senior CLASS Award focuses on the total student-athlete and encourages students to use their platform in athletics to make a positive impact as leaders in their communities.

Mitchell balances all four of the elements of this award ââ’¬” community, classroom, character and competition ââ’¬” as the Gamecocks’ two-time SEC Player of the Year. Working with both her sorority and the team, she gives back to the community with an infectious, engaging personality the immediately establish a personal connection with whomever she is working. In the classroom, she is among the team’s highest GPAs, making the President’s List (4.0) the last two semesters. Mitchell models excellent character for her teammates both on the floor and in the classroom. Her competition resume is without peer in Gamecock history as a finalist for all three national player of the year awards in 2015 and a two-time All-American during the program’s most successful era.

This season, Mitchell is second on the team with 14.7 points per game ââ’¬” a number that rises to 16.0 points per game in SEC play. Netting double-figure points in all but one game this season, she is among the league’s top 10 scorers and is 12th in steals as she impacts the team on both sides of the ball. In league play, she is shooting 41.9 percent to rank fifth in the SEC while handing out 3.0 assists per game (fifth) and swiping 2.4 steals per game (third).

The 30 candidates will be narrowed to 10 finalists in February, and those 10 names will be placed on the official ballot. Ballots will be distributed through a nationwide voting system to media, coaches and fans, who will select one candidate who best exemplifies excellence in the four Cs of community, classroom, character and competition. The Senior CLASS Award winner will be announced during the NCAA Women’s Final Four.

Senior CLASS Award Candidates
Jilliam Alleyne, Oregon
Ashley Beverly Kelley, Troy
Imani Boyette, Texas
Adut Bulgak, Florida State
Ruvanna Campbell, Illinois at Chicago
Cait Craft, Ohio State
Elisha Davis, Arizona State
Aundrea Gamble, Arkansas State
Ruth Hamblin, Oregon State
Nikki Hegstetter, Alabama
Bria Holmes, West Virginia
Malina Howard, Maryland
Marissa Janning, Creighton
Moriah Jefferson, Connecticut
Chanise Jenkins, DePaul
Jonquel Jones, George Washington
Jordan Jones, Texas A&M
Whitney Knight, Florida Gulf Coast
Zahna Medley, TCU
Kelsey Minato, Army
Tiffany Mitchell, South Carolina
Janelle Perez, Northwestern State
Shereesha Richards, Albany
Raquel Scott, Holy Cross
Breanna Stewart, Connecticut
Rachel Theriot, Nebraska
Ellie Tinkle, Gonzaga
Kaylon Williams, Oklahoma
Elizabeth Wood, Maine
Michelle Woods, Miami (FL)