Skip to main content
Partner logo
Mobile Icon Link Mobile Icon Link Mobile Icon Link

March 10, 2016


COLUMBIA, S.C. — South Carolina senior guard Tiffany Mitchell and sophomore forward A’ja Wilson were named to the John R. Wooden Award Final Ballot, the organization announced on Wednesday. Mitchell is also a finalist for the Dawn Staley Award, given by the Phoenix Club of Philadelphia.

Mitchell collected All-SEC First Team recognition for the third-straight season, the first in the league to do so since 2009 and just the second Gamecock ever to accomplish the feat. Following a season in which she ranked among the SEC’s top 10 in scoring (5th, 15.6 ppg), free throw percentage (2nd, .833), steals per game (8th, 1.9 spg) and made 3-pointers per game (6th, 1.7) in league play, the senior claimed SEC Tournament MVP honors behind 15.7 points and 3.3 assists per game at the event.

Wilson brought home SEC Player of the Year and Defensive Player of the Year honors as she ranks among the SEC’s top scorers and rebounders this season at 16.4 points and 8.7 rebounds per game. She ranks 12th in the nation in blocked shots per game at 3.1 per game. She has 12 double-doubles this season, including five in SEC play, and seven 20-point outings, which feature four against nationally ranked SEC foes. Already with 978 career points, Wilson is closing in on becoming just the second Gamecock to reach 1,000 points in her sophomore season.

The Wooden Award, selected by hundreds of members of the national women’s basketball media, will announce its All-American Team on Mond., March 28, during a 30-minute show on ESPNU at 8 p.m. The winner of the Wooden Award will be announced as part of the ESPN College Basketball Awards Show presented by Wendy’s the weekend of April 7-9.

The Dawn Staley Award winner will be announced during the NCAA Final Four weekend with an award ceremony honoring the winner set for Fri., April 22, at the Union League of Philadelphia.

John R. Wooden Award Final Ballot
Jillian Alleyne, Jr., G, Oregon
Rachel Banham, Sr., G, Minnesota
Nina Davis, Jr., F, Baylor
Moriah Jefferson, Sr., G, UConn
Brionna Jones, Jr., C, Maryland
Kelsey Mitchell, So., G, Ohio State
Tiffany Mitchell, Sr., G, South Carolina
Kelsey Plum, Jr., G, Washington
Aerial Powers, Jr., F, Michigan State
Breanna Stewart, Sr., F, UConn
Morgan Tuck, Jr., F, UConn
Brianna Turner, So., F, Notre Dame
Shatori Walker-Kimbrough, Jr., G, Maryland
Courtney Williams, Sr., G, South Florida
A’ja Wilson, So., F, South Carolina

Dawn Staley Award Finalists
Rachel Banham, Minnesota
Moriah Jefferson, UConn
Kelsey Mitchell, Ohio State
Tiffany Mitchell, South Carolina