Skip to main content
Partner logo
Mobile Icon Link Mobile Icon Link Mobile Icon Link Gamecocks+
Six Gamecocks Earn C-USA Academic Medals
Men's Soccer  . 

Six Gamecocks Earn C-USA Academic Medals

April 7, 2017

IRIVNG, Texas — Six South Carolina men’s soccer student-athletes earned Conference USA Commissioner’s Academic Medals for the 2016-17 academic year, commissioner Judy MacLeod announced this morning. Ryan Arambula, Ben Davidson, Danny Deakin, Lee Hogge, Jeff Lu and Kurtis Turner are the team’s six honorees, tying UAB for the most recipients amongst the nine men’s soccer programs in the league.

Deakin and Hogge each earned the prestigious academic medals last season as well. Medals are given to those C-USA student-athletes who have achieved a cumulative GPA of 3.75 or better.

Since joining Conference USA in 2005, Carolina has had five or more student-athletes earn academic medals 10 times.

2016-17 C-USA Men’s Soccer Commissioner’s Academic Medal Recipients:
Callum Montgomery
Austin Mullins
Philip Salice

Kyle Fries
Phillip Hitpass
Carlos Sanchis


Sam Miller
Keyarash Namjoupanah
Paul Sime
Samuel Stockton
Cooper Whitfield


Jascha Glueckschalt
Christian Kershaw
Trevor Starcher

Jason Beaulieu
Gabriel Camera
Matthew Dorsey
Simon Spangenberg

Christian Coulson
Tyler Edwards
Niko Klosterhalfen
Amir Najib

Ryan Arambula
Ben Davidson
Danny Deakin
Lee Hogge
Jeff Lu
Kurtis Turner

UAB (6)
Julian Mehl
Eder Mora
Richard Nelson
Chase Rushing
Evan Scarbrough
Henrique Sposito

Click here for the full list of the 2016-17 C-USA Commisioner’s Academic Medal winners.