Skip to main content
Partner logo
Mobile Icon Link Mobile Icon Link Mobile Icon Link Gamecocks+

Gamecock Athletics Holds 2014 Gamecock Gala
Jeannelle Scheper named as President’s Award winner at annual event.

April 28, 2014

Photo Gallery media-icon-photogallery.gif | Sights & Sounds video.gif

COLUMBIA, S.C. – The University of South Carolina Athletics Department held its annual Gamecock Gala on Monday evening at Colonial Life Arena. The event honored the University’s student-athletes for their accomplishments during the 2013-14 campaign. Student-athletes, administrators, coaches and special guests attended the elegant event, which featured a red carpet entrance, heavy hors d’oeuvres and special awards ceremony. ESPN’s Cara Capuano and Anish Shroff served as the emcees for the evening for the second year in a row.

Jeannelle Scheper from the women’s track and field team earned the night’s most prestigious honor, the President’s Award, which was presented by University of South Carolina President Dr. Harris Pastides. Since coming to South Carolina at the age of 16, this year’s winner of the President’s Award has left no question that she is the best high jumper to ever don the Garnet and Black. In 2013, she clinched the program’s first-ever SEC high jump championship and followed up the feat by capturing back-to-back NCAA Indoor silver medals. The St. Lucia native is the first high jump All-American in school history and now has five certificates to her name. She is the first and only Gamecock woman to clear 6′ and holds both the indoor and outdoor school records. Last fall, she earned national recognition, winning the inaugural Hammer Strength All-American Award, and this spring she was voted the 2014 Coaches Association Southeast Region Field Athlete of the Year. Not just a champion on the field, she is a team captain has earned placement on the SEC Academic Honor Roll and Coaches Association All-Academic Status during her career. A Math major, she carries a 3.661 grade point average, was recognized at the Gala as the Women’s Indoor and Outdoor Track & Field MVP, was honored last year as the Co-Female Athlete of the Year and represents the track & field team on the Student-Athlete Advisory Committee.

The 2014 Garnet Award, which symbolizes passion and devotion for Gamecock Athletics, was presented to Dr. Eddie and Mrs. Kay Floyd. The Floyd’s have been fixtures at Gamecock Athletics events for decades. With over 20 years of membership in the Gamecock Club, these donors are some of the program’s most loyal supporters and passionate fans. Trustee, ambassadors, volunteers and true Gamecocks only begins to describe this dynamic duo. Their love and loyalty to the University has extended to generations with many family members attending USC.

A complete list of award winners for the 2014 Gamecock Gala are listed below:

SEC H. Boyd McWhorter Award: Danielle Au (women’s soccer), Stephen Anderson (men’s soccer)
SEC Brad Davis Community Service Award: Taylor Josserand (swimming and diving), Jay Warner (swimming and diving)
New Student-Athlete of the Year: Alaina Coates (women’s basketball), Sindarius Thornwell (men’s basketball)
Scholar-Athlete of the Year: Elizabeth Sinclair (women’s soccer), Stephen Anderson (men’s soccer)
Community Outreach Team of the Year: Women’s Soccer
Athletes of the Year: Sabrina D’Angelo (women’s soccer), Grayson Greiner (baseball), Bruce Ellington (football/basketball)
The Garnet Award: Dr. Eddie and Mrs. Kay Floyd
The President’s Award: Jeannelle Scheper

Team MVP’s:
Women’s Basketball: Tiffany Mitchell
Men’s Basketball: Sindarius Thornwell
Cheerleading: Erica Levy
Equestrian: Alison Ceresani
Football: Connor Shaw
Women’s Golf: Justine Dreher
Men’s Golf: Matt NeSmith
Women’s Soccer: Stevi Parker
Men’s Soccer: Braeden Troyer
Softball (MVP based on 2013 season): Samie Garcia
Women’s Swimming and Diving: Victoria Mitchell
Men’s Swimming and Diving: Marwan El Kamash
Women’s Tennis: Elixane Lechemia
Men’s Tennis: Andrew Adams
Women’s Indoor and Outdoor Track and Field: Jeannelle Scheper
Men’s Indoor Track and Field: Jermaine Collier
Men’s Outdoor Track and Field: Chris Royster
Cross Country: Meredith Mill
Volleyball Juliette Thévenin