Skip to main content
Partner logo
Mobile Icon Link Mobile Icon Link Mobile Icon Link Gamecocks+

Commitment to Academic Excellence

Tutorial Services | CHAMPS/Life Skills | Student-Athlete Handbook

cares-logo.jpg The University of South Carolina Athletics Department extends a caring and committed effort toward helping our students’ intellectual, cultural, physical and social development. To support this commitment, the Department of Athletics has created an academic support program to assist student-athletes with their transition from high school to college. The primary objective of the Carolina Academic Resources and Enrichment Services (C.A.R.E.S.) program is to assist student-athletes in their efforts to complete their degree requirements and to develop the skills necessary to be productive members of society.

The C.A.R.E.S. program is conveniently housed in the Academic Enrichment Center in the Roost, adjacent to Sarge Frye Field. The staff of the Academic Enrichment Center provides student-athletes with accurate and timely information about both University of South Carolina requirements and procedures and NCAA rules and regulations. The academic advisors within the C.A.R.E.S. program assist the student-athletes’ pursuit of undergraduate degrees through the development and evaluation of their academic plans based on the student-athletes’ individual educational and career objectives. The C.A.R.E.S. staff encourages student-athletes to take advantage of and participate in all of the educational opportunities of the University of South Carolina.

C.A.R.E.S. Staff Directory

_1613612.jpeg _1613712.jpeg _1613721.jpeg _1613719.jpeg
Raymond Harrison
Director of Academics/Life Skills
(803) 777-8521
raymondh@sc.edu
Steve Bondurant
Academic Advisor
(Baseball, Men’s Soccer, Volleyball)
(803) 777-2862
sbondurant@sc.edu
Robert Campbell
Assistant Director
(Women’s Soccer, Softball, Swimming & Diving)
(803) 576-6277
rhcamp01@sc.edu
Al Daniel
Academic Advisor
(Men’s Basketball, Golf)
(803) 777-8065
alfredd@sc.edu
       
_1613723.jpeg _1613728.jpeg _1613727.jpeg _2341879.jpeg
Renia Edwards
Director of Internal Operations
(Track & Field, Cross Country)
(803) 777-1089
renia@sc.edu
Katie Ethridge
Life Skills Coordinator
(Football)
(803) 777-0319
ethridge@sc.edu
Maria Hickman
Assistant Director
(Football)
(803) 777-6321
mhickman@sc.edu
Mike McCall
Learning Specialist/School Psychologist
(803) 777-3581
mccallmw@sc.edu
       
_2341900.jpeg _2341932.jpeg _2341960.jpeg  
Maya McCoy
Learning Specialist
(Tennis, Women’s Basketball)
(803) 777-8704
mayam@sc.edu
Jennifer Sturm
Learning Specialist/Tutorial Coordinator
(803) 777-9228
jsturm@sc.edu
Rosalind Isaac
Administrative Assistant/Payroll Coordinator
(803) 777-6448
risaac@sc.edu