Skip to main content
Partner logo
Mobile Icon Link Mobile Icon Link Mobile Icon Link Gamecocks+
Price Named SEC Freshman of the Year, Go Earns All-SEC First Team Honors
Women's Golf  . 

Price Named SEC Freshman of the Year, Go Earns All-SEC First Team Honors

COLUMBIA, S.C. – South Carolina women’s golf standout Emily Price was named the SEC Freshman of the Year while Lois Kaye Go, along with Price, was named All-SEC, the league announced Thursday. Go was selected to the All-SEC First Team, while Price grabbed a spot on the conference’s Second Team. 

The honor for Price is also the first Freshman of the Year honor won by a Gamecock in program history. Go, a two-time All-SEC selection, collected her first career first-team laurels. Go became the 18th player in program history to earn All-SEC accolades.

The Gamecocks, who earned runner-up at the 2019 SEC Championship in April, have boasted multiple All-SEC honorees in each of the last three seasons.

Price has emerged as one of the top freshmen in the country this season, ranking 11th in the latest Golfstat rankings. The Ludlow, England, native is the top ranked freshman in the SEC and the second-highest ranked freshman in the country. Her best finish was at the 2019 SEC Championships where she finished in a tie for fifth, the best finish by a freshman in Carolina history at the SEC Championships. Price was able to break the single-season stroke average in Carolina history at 72.81 this season. The rookie combined to finish six of her eight tournaments in the top-20, tied with Go for the most this season on the team. Price was also named to the SEC All-Freshman team. 

During the 2018-19 season Go was a steady force. The junior led the team with 12 par or better rounds this season. Her 72.82 stroke average this season is the seventh-best single-season stroke average in Carolina history. Go finished in the top 20 six times this season in 10 tournaments. She was one of the biggest factors in helping the Gamecocks finish with a 292.89 stroke average as a team, the fourth-best season scoring average in South Carolina history.

Go was also recognized as the Gamecocks representative on the SEC Community Service Team. Go totaled over 30 hours of community service this season. The Cebu City, Philippines, native assisted in First Tee of Columbia, Harvest Hope, Buiild-A-Bike, Boy Scout Signing, Goodwill volunteering and the Gamecock Games.

Last month at the SEC Championships, Go was also awarded the SEC Scholar-Athlete of the Year award. Go is the first Gamecock to win the award since 2006 (Whitney Simons). The junior has excelled in the classroom at South Carolina. As a Finance/Accounting major, Go has posted a perfect 4.0 grade-point-average and was a part of the SEC Academic Honor Roll in 2017-18.

Carolina concluded its season on May 8 at the 2019 NCAA Cle Elum Regional. The Gamecocks return four of their top-five in the lineup next season.

Make sure to follow along on Twitter and Instagram (@GamecockWGolf) and on Facebook to stay up to date with the Gamecocks.

Maria Fassi, Arkansas (SEC Championship Individual Medalist)
Jiwon Jeon, Alabama
Julie McCarthy, Auburn
Abbey Carlson, Vanderbilt
Kaylee Benton, Arkansas
Lois Kaye Go, South Carolina
Dylan Kim, Arkansas
Auston Kim, Vanderbilt

Emily Price, South Carolina
Courtney Zeng, Vanderbilt
Julia Johnson, Ole Miss
Clara Manzalini, Florida
Sierra Brooks, Florida
Marta Perez, Florida
Micheala Williams, Tennessee
Leonie Bettel, Kentucky

Greg Allen, Vanderbilt

Maria Fassi, Arkansas

Emily Price, South Carolina

Lois Kaye Go, South Carolina

Clara Manzalini, Florida
Auston Kim, Vanderbilt
Emily Price, South Carolina
Brooke Matthews, Arkansas
Jenny Bae, Georgia
Harmie Constantino, Georgia
Jo Hua Hung, Georgia
Mikayla Bardwell, Tennessee
Brooke Sansom, Auburn

Angelica Moresco, Alabama
Cara Gorlei, Arkansas
Melanie Talbott, Auburn
Lauren Waidner, Florida
Rinko Mitsunaga, Georgia
Josephine Chang, Kentucky
Kathleen Gallagher, LSU
Conner Beth Ball, Ole Miss
Ela Grimwood, Mississippi State
Julia Bower, Missouri
Lois Kaye Go, South Carolina
Mariah Smith, Tennessee
Courtney Dow, Texas A&M
Abbey Carlson, Vanderbilt