Skip to main content
Partner logo
Mobile Icon Link Mobile Icon Link Mobile Icon Link Gamecocks+
Henderson Named to Nancy Lieberman Award Watch List
Women's Basketball  . 

Henderson Named to Nancy Lieberman Award Watch List

COLUMBIA, S.C. – South Carolina senior Destanni Henderson is one of 20 candidates named to the 2022 Nancy Lieberman Award Watch List, the Naismith Memorial Basketball Hall of Fame and the Women’s Basketball Coaches Association announced today. Now in its 23rd year, the award recognizes the top point guard in women’s NCAA Division I college basketball. To be considered for the award, candidates must exhibit the floor leadership, playmaking and ball-handling skills of Class of 1986 Hall of Famer Nancy Lieberman.
Henderson led the SEC and ranked 36th in the nation in assists per game last season (5.1), a number that went up to 5.6 per game in SEC action. The floor general also ranked third on the team in scoring at a career-high 12.2 points per game. Her 22 double-digit scoring games included two 20-point outings and her first career double-double with 14 points and 10 assists against No. 15/16 Arkansas on Jan. 18, 2021. She handed out five our more assists 17 times in 31 games and finished the season with a 1.78 assist-to-turnover ratio, which ranks eighth in program history.
A national committee of top college basketball personnel determined the watch list of 20 candidates, and college basketball fans are encouraged to participate in the Fan Voting presented by Dell Technologies in each of the three rounds. In late January, the watch list of 20 players will be narrowed to 10 and then to just five in late February. In March, the five finalists will be presented to Ms. Lieberman and the Hall of Fame’s selection committee where the winner will be selected.
The winner of the 2022 Nancy Lieberman Award will be presented on a to-be-determined date, along with the other four members of the Women’s Starting Five. Additional awards being presented include the Ann Meyers Drysdale Shooting Guard Award, the Cheryl Miller Small Forward Award, the Katrina McClain Power Forward Award and the Lisa Leslie Center Award, in addition to the Men’s Starting Five.
The Gamecocks will host Benedict in an exhibition game at Colonial Life Arena on Mon., Nov. 1, before officially opening the season at AP Preseason No. 5 NC State.
Fans interested in buying season tickets for the Gamecocks’ 2021-22 season can find more information at or by calling the South Carolina Athletics Ticket Office at 1-800-4SC-FANS (472-3267).
Continue to check and the team’s social media accounts (@GamecockWBB) for the most up-to-date information on the women’s basketball season.
2022 Nancy Lieberman Award Candidates
Paige Bueckers, UConn
Veronica Burton, Northwestern
Catilin Clark, Iowa
Gina Conti, UCLA
Amy Dilk, Michigan
Dyaisha Fair, Buffalo
Katia Gallegos, UTEP
Dru Gylten, Utah
Anastasia Hayes, Mississippi State
Lauren Heard, TCU
Destanni Henderson, South Carolina
Diamond Johnson, NC State
Jazmine Massengill, Kentucky
Ashley Owusu, Maryland
Te-Hina Pao Pao, Oregon
Lauren Park-Lane, Seton Hall
Ali Patberg, Indiana
Raina Perez, NC State
Myah Taylor, Mississippi State
Hailey Van Lith, Louisville