Skip to main content
Partner logo
Mobile Icon Link Mobile Icon Link Mobile Icon Link Gamecocks+
Gamecocks Ready for SEC Match Play Sunday
Men's Golf  . 

Gamecocks Ready for SEC Match Play Sunday

New format at this season's fall, all-SEC event with stroke play followed by match play

VESTAVIA HILLS, Ala. – South Carolina is back on the competition trail this week at the SEC Match Play Hosted by Jerry Pate starting on Sunday. The all-SEC tournament is in its second year and will have a new format this season.

Teams will play 36 holes on Sunday with the final 18 holes taking place on Monday. The top two teams after 54 holes will play in the title match on Tuesday. The other schools will square off with in east vs. west showdowns to be determined based off the final stroke play leaderboard.

Fifth-year senior Evans Lewis remains in the top spot in the lineup. He’s joined by sophomore Gene Zeigler, junior Rafe Reynolds and sophomore Nathan Franks again. Redshirt senior transfer Lansdon Robbins will make his Gamecock debut this week at Old Overton Club.

Robbins played four seasons at UNC Wilmington (2018-22). He played in 25 events for the Seahawks, logging a career scoring average of 73.18, the seventh-best mark in program history. Robbins had 10 top-20 finishes there with a trio of top-10s.

Live scoring will be available all week via Golfstat.

Carolina will be paired with No. 14 Arkansas and No. 23 Ole Miss for the first 36 holes on Sunday. It will be a shotgun start for the field at 8:30 a.m. (ET). The Gamecocks will tee off on holes 12 through 15.

2022 SEC Match Play Field

  1. No. 32 Alabama
  2. No. 14 Arkansas
  3. No. 13 Auburn
  4. No. 3 Florida
  5. No. 16 Georgia
  6. No. 21 LSU
  7. Kentucky
  8. No. 41 Missouri
  9. Mississippi State
  10. No. 23 Ole Miss
  11. No. 33 South Carolina
  12. No. 12 Tennessee
  13. No. 17 Texas A&M
  14. No. 1 Vanderbilt

* – rankings via Bushnell/Golfweek Coaches Poll (Sept. 9)

2022 SEC Match Play Gamecock Lineup

  1. Evans Lewis
  2. Gene Zeigler
  3. Rafe Reynolds
  4. Lansdon Robbins
  5. Nathan Franks