Skip to main content
Partner logo
Mobile Icon Link Mobile Icon Link Mobile Icon Link Gamecocks+
Saxton, Feagin Named to Katrina McClain Award Watch List
Women's Basketball  . 

Saxton, Feagin Named to Katrina McClain Award Watch List

COLUMBIA, S.C. – South Carolina sophomore Sania Feagin and senior Victaria Saxton are two of 20 candidates named to the 2023 Katrina McClain Award Watch List, the Naismith Basketball Hall of Fame and the Women’s Basketball Coaches Association announced today. In its sixth year, the award recognizes the top power forwards in women’s NCAA Division I college basketball.

In a crowded, veteran frontcourt, Feagin saw action in 31 games her freshman year, including 15 SEC games and all six NCAA Tournament games as the Gamecocks claimed the National Championship. Her best outings included topping the bench rebounding effort at #13/16 LSU with four in the first half of a tight game, a solid second-quarter showing at #17/14 Georgia with five points, two steals and rebounds in that period and a career-high 10 points in her NCAA Tournament debut.

Saxton is among the most vital and unsung pieces of the Gamecocks’ success over her four seasons in the Garnet and Black. Already helping the program to two SEC Regular-Season Championships, two SEC Tournament titles, the 2021 NCAA Final Four and the 2022 National Championship, the Rome, Ga., native chose to return for a fifth season to further burnish her reputation as one of the most effective rebounders in the country. In her last two seasons as a starter, she has averaged 5.8 rebounds with half coming on the offensive end, putting her in the SEC’s top 10 in offensive rebounds per game each season. South Carolina has been in the nation’s top 10 in offensive rebounds per game each of those two seasons, including ranking third in 2021-22. Entering her final season, Saxton is ninth in program history in career offensive rebounds (301) and sixth in blocked shots (171).

A national committee of top college basketball personnel determined the watch list of 20 candidates, and college basketball fans are encouraged to participate in the Fan Voting, presented by Dell Technologies, in each of the three rounds starting Fri., Oct. 21. In late January, the watch list of 20 players will be narrowed to 10 and then to just five in late February. In March, the five finalists will be presented to Ms. McClain and the Hall of Fame’s selection committee where the winner will be selected.

The winner of the 2023 Katrina McClain Award will be presented on a to-be-determined date, along with the other four members of the Women’s Starting Five. Additional awards being presented include the Nancy Lieberman Point Guard Award, the Ann Meyers Drysdale Shooting Guard Award, the Cheryl Miller Small Forward Award and the Lisa Leslie Center Award, in addition to the Men’s Starting Five.

South Carolina will host an exhibition game against Benedict on Mon., Oct. 31, prior to officially opening the 2022-23 season on Mon., Nov. 7, against ETSU at Colonial Life Arena.

Fans interested in buying season tickets for the Gamecocks’ 2022-23 season can find more information at or by calling the South Carolina Athletics Ticket Office at 1-800-4SC-FANS (472-3267). Single-game ticket information will be announced at a later date.

Stay tuned to and the team’s social media accounts (@GamecockWBB) for more information on the 2022-23 season ahead.

2023 Katrina McClain Award Candidates
Erynn Barnum, Arkansas
Cameron Brink, Stanford
Addie Budnik, Richmond
Sam Brunelle, Virginia
Olivia Cochran, Louisville
Aaliyah Edwards, UConn
DreUna Edwards, Baylor
Sania Feagin, South Carolina
Jasmine Franklin, Tennessee
Lauren Gustin, BYU
Esmery Martinez, Arizona
Aaliyah Moore, Texas
Aneesah Morrow, DePaul
Alissa Pili, Utah
Angel Reese, LSU
Cate Reese, Arizona
Emma Ronsiek, Creighton
Victaria Saxton, South Carolina
Maddy Siegrist, Villanova
Maddy Westbeld, Notre Dame