Skip to main content
Partner logo
Mobile Icon Link Mobile Icon Link Mobile Icon Link Gamecocks+
Cooke Named to Ann Meyers Drysdale Award Top 10
Women's Basketball  . 

Cooke Named to Ann Meyers Drysdale Award Top 10

COLUMBIA, S.C. – South Carolina senior Zia Cooke earned a spot on the 2023 Ann Meyers Drysdale Award Top 10, the Naismith Basketball Hall of Fame and the Women’s Basketball Coaches Association announced today. In its sixth year, the award recognizes the top shooting guard in women’s NCAA Division I college basketball.

Cooke, who is also on watch lists for all three national player of the year awards, is ninth in the SEC in scoring at 15.38 points per game, including 17.1 per SEC game. Always a dynamic scorer, the senior is shooting with career-best accuracy this season, hitting 42.0 percent from the field with 38.0 accuracy from 3-point range. Her 38.5 percent 3-point shooting in SEC action is third-best in the league. Cooke has scored in double figures 18 times in 21 games this season, including three 20-point games and a career-high 31 at Georgia earlier this month.

Fans can support their favorite players in the remaining rounds by participating in Fan Voting, presented by Dell Technologies, starting Friday, February 3 on The Fan Vote will count as one committee vote during the finalist selection process.

In March, five finalists will be presented to Meyers Drysdale and the Hall of Fame’s selection committee. The Selection Committee for the Ann Meyers Drysdale Award is composed of top women’s college basketball personnel including media members, head coaches, sports information directors and Hall of Famers.

The winner of the 2023 Meyers Drysdale Award will be presented on a to be determined date, along with the four other members of the Women’s Starting Five. Additional awards being presented include the Nancy Lieberman Award (Point Guard), Cheryl Miller Award (Small Forward), the Katrina McClain Award (Power Forward) and the Lisa Leslie Award (Center), in addition to the Men’s Starting Five.

No. 1/1 South Carolina is back in action on Thu., Feb. 2, hosting Kentucky in a 7 p.m. tipoff on SEC Network.

Stay tuned to and the team’s social media accounts (@GamecockWBB) for more information on the 2022-23 season ahead.


2023 Ann Meyers Drysdale Award Top 10
Zia Cooke, South Carolina
Gabby Gregory, Kansas State
Ta’Niya Latson, Florida State
Charlisse Leger-Walker, Washington State
Taylor Mikesell, Ohio State
Diamond Miller, Maryland
Charisma Osborne, UCLA
Hailey Van Lith, Louisville
Antwainette Walker, Eastern Kentucky
Keishana Washington, Drexel