Skip to main content
Partner logo
Mobile Icon Link Mobile Icon Link Mobile Icon Link Gamecocks+
Staley Named Naismith Coach of the Year Semifinalist
Women's Basketball  . 

Staley Named Naismith Coach of the Year Semifinalist

COLUMBIA, S.C. – South Carolina women’s basketball head coach Dawn Staley is among the 10 semifinalists for the 2023 Werner Ladder  Naismith Women’s College Coach of the Year award, the Atlanta Tipoff Club announced today. The two-time winner of the award (2020, 2022) has been a finalist three other times in her time at South Carolina.

Staley has led this Gamecock team to a 32-0 record and both the SEC Regular-Season and Tournament championships. South Carolina has been ranked No. 1 in both national polls every week of the season. The program’s current 37-week run at No. in the AP Poll is the second-longest streak in the history of that poll. The Gamecocks’ six wins over ranked opponents are the fourth-most in the country this season and their 13 road wins are tied for the most in the nation. Seven different Gamecocks have led the team in scoring at least once, including five who came off the bench to do it.

The award’s four finalists will be announced on Mon., March 20. The Fan Vote to help narrow the list down to the final honoree will open on Tue., March 21, and close on Tue., March 28. The fan vote will account for five percent of the overall final vote. The 2023 Werner Ladder Naismith Trophy for Women’s College Coach of the Year will be awarded on Wed., March 29, during the Women’s Final Four.

South Carolina awaits is NCAA Tournament schedule, which will be announced on Sun., Mar. 12, at 8 p.m. on ESPN. The Gamecocks are hosting a Selection Show Watch Party at Colonial Life Arena with doors and food trucks opening at 6 p.m.

Continue to check and the team’s social media accounts (@GamecockWBB) for the most up-to-date information on the women’s basketball season.

2023 Naismith Coach of the Year Semifinalists
Dawn Staley, South Carolina
Denise Dillon, Villanova
Joe Tartamella, St. John’s
Kenny Brooks, Virginia Tech
Kim Mulkey, LSU
Lisa Bluder, Iowa
Lynne Roberts, Utah
Niele Ivey, Notre Dame
Teri Moren, Indiana
Vic Schaefer, Texas