Skip to main content
Partner logo
Mobile Icon Link Mobile Icon Link Mobile Icon Link Gamecocks+
Equestrian Holds Annual Award Banquet
Equestrian  . 

Equestrian Holds Annual Award Banquet

Columbia, S.C. – The South Carolina equestrian team wrapped up its season with an end-of-year banquet and honored the 2022-22 riders.

Head coach Boo Major, associate head coach Kristen Terebesi and assistant coach Bobbie Piddock all gave remarks about the season. The junior class also shared heartfelt speeches honoring this year’s seniors.

At the end of the night, the team captains for the 2023-24 season were announced. Jordan Allen and Madeline Schaefer were named the captains for jumping seat, while Emilia Reutimann and Tierney Horton were named captains on the Western side.

A full list of award winners is below:

MVP Horsemanship: Alexa Thorpe
MVP Reining: Haley Turner
MVP Flat: Trinity Hammerschmidt
MVP Fences: Madeline Schaefer
Most Outstanding Freshman: Natalie Jayne
Spirit Award: Claire Pound
Most Dedicated: Claire Pound, Madeline Schaefer
Most Improved: Mary Hunter Millet, Haley Turner
Coaches Award: Madison Hammon
Most Outstanding Performer: Madeline Schaefer
Grooming Awards:

  • Tierney Horton and Ruby Voortmeyer for Houdini
  • Kenley Koch for Steve Irwin

For more information on South Carolina equestrian, check out the team on GamecocksOnline and on social media: @GamecockEQ.