Skip to main content
Partner logo
Mobile Icon Link Mobile Icon Link Mobile Icon Link Gamecocks+
Cardoso Named Lisa Leslie Award Finalist
Women's Basketball  . 

Cardoso Named Lisa Leslie Award Finalist

COLUMBIA, S.C. – South Carolina senior Kamilla Cardoso is a finalist for the 2024 Lisa Leslie Center of the Year Award, the Naismith Basketball Hall of Fame and the Women’s Basketball Coaches Association announced today. In its seventh season, this award recognizes the top center in women’s NCAA Div. I college basketball and has been won by a Gamecock five times.

The SEC Defensive Player of the Year and a First-Team All-SEC selection, Cardoso is on every current national player of the year watch list as well as the Naismith Defensive Player of the Year list. She is 13th in the nation in blocks per game (2.8) and 21st in field goal percentage (.581) with both numbers leading the SEC. Averaging a double-double with 14.1 points and 10.0 rebounds per game, she is 33rd in the nation in rebounding average and 31st in double-doubles with 13 in her 24 games played. Cardoso is second in the SEC in both offensive and defensive player rating.

Fans can support their favorite players in the remaining rounds by participating in Fan Voting, presented by Dell Technologies, starting today, on The Fan Vote will count as one committee vote during the finalist selection process. These five finalists will be presented to Leslie and the Hall of Fame’s selection committee, which is comprised of top women’s college basketball personnel, including media members, head coaches, sports information directors and Hall of Famers.

The 2024 Lisa Leslie Award winner will be presented on a to be determined date, along with the other four members of the Women’s Starting Five. Additional awards being presented include the Nancy Lieberman Award (Point Guard), Ann Meyers Drysdale Award (Shooting Guard), Cheryl Miller Award (Small Forward) and Katrina McClain Award (Power Forward), in addition to the Men’s Starting Five.

No. 1/1 South Carolina advanced to the SEC Tournament semifinals with a win earlier today. The Gamecocks will face Tennessee for the second time in seven days on Sat., March 9, at 4 p.m. ET on ESPNU.

Stay tuned to and the team’s social media accounts (@GamecockWBB) for more information on the program.

2024 Lisa Leslie Center of the Year Award Finalists
Mackenzie Holmes, Indiana
Raegan Beers, Oregon State
Kamilla Cardoso, South Carolina
Cameron Brink, Stanford
Elizabeth Kitley, Virginia Tech