Skip to main content
Partner logo
Mobile Icon Link Mobile Icon Link Mobile Icon Link Gamecocks+

May 22, 2004

OPELIKA, Ala. – Adrienne Gautreaux, the senior captain of the University of South Carolina women’s golf team, has been named the 2004 recipient of the Dinah Shore Trophy Award, which is sponsored by The Ladies Professional Golf Association (LPGA) Foundation. Gautreaux received her award Friday night during the annual National Golf Coaches Association (NGCA) Women’s Golf Banquet, held in conjunction with the 2004 Division I NCAA Women’s Golf Championship at Auburn University in Opelika, Ala.

The award recognizes a female collegiate golfer who excels in both academics and athletics. She must have an overall grade point average (GPA) of at least 3.2 on a 4.0 scale, play in at least 50 percent of her team’s scheduled events and maintain a scoring average of 78.00 or less. Gautreaux, who finished tied for 22nd place at the NCAA Championship, was a First-Team All-SEC selection in 2004, and was chosen based on her outstanding achievements in academics, natural leadership style, dedicated community service work and extraordinary golf ability.

As part of the Dinah Shore Trophy Award, the University of South Carolina women’s golf program will receive an $8,000 grant in Gautreaux’s name. The award and the grant are funded through The LPGA Foundation’s Dinah Shore Scholarship Fund and the Friends of Golf (FOG).

Gautreaux, who graduated with a degree in Psychology, had scoring average of 74.44 during the 2004 season and is now attending graduate school at the University of South Carolina, studying Hotel, Restaurant and Tourism Management. In the past year, she was SEC Player of the Week and received the University of South Carolina Scholar Athlete Award.

In addition to her academic and athletic achievements, Gautreaux was also involved in community service and represented the women’s golf team on the Student Athletic Advisory Committee (SAAC). Gautreaux was involved with many charities and also took time to read and visit with children at local schools and hospitals.

Gautreaux, was presented with a crystal replica of the actual Dinah Shore Trophy from LPGA member Therese Hession, President of the National Golf Coaches Association and the Women’s Golf Coach at The Ohio State University.

The Dinah Shore Trophy Award, a part of the Dinah Shore Scholarship Fund, is a cooperative effort between The LPGA Foundation, FOG and the Kraft Nabisco Championship, one of the LPGA’s four major championships and the largest contributor to the Dinah Shore Scholarship Fund.

The LPGA Foundation introduced the Dinah Shore Scholarship Fund in March 1994 in honor of the late Dinah Shore, a graduate of Vanderbilt University and an honorary member of the LPGA Tour Hall of Fame. Together with FOG and Nabisco, The LPGA Foundation developed the Dinah Shore Trophy Award and its criteria.

A fundraising organization administered by Eddie Merrins, the golf professional at Bel Air Golf Club in Beverly Hills, Calif., FOG contributes annually to collegiate, high school and junior golf programs throughout the country, and Dinah Shore was considered the “First Lady” of FOG. The Dinah Shore Trophy Award has donated more than $60,000 to women’s collegiate golf programs since its inception in 1994.

Established in 1991 to complement the charitable activities of the LPGA and its tournaments, the LPGA established The LPGA Foundation, a non-profit 501(c)(3) charitable organization. The LPGA Foundation has four main goals: to develop and maintain junior golf programs across the country; to develop and maintain scholarship programs for junior golfers; to maintain a financial assistance fund for those in the golf industry; and to conduct research and develop educational activities related to golf instruction. Since its inception, The LPGA Foundation, supported through tax-deductible donations from individuals and businesses, has created and supported a number of programs to achieve those objectives.