Skip to main content
Partner logo
Mobile Icon Link Mobile Icon Link Mobile Icon Link Gamecocks+

May 24, 2005

Hoover, Ala. – South Carolina junior shortstop Steven Tolleson earned 2005 first team All-SEC honors as announced by the conference office on Tuesday morning. In addition, senior first baseman Steve Pearce earned second team All-SEC honors and senior right-handed pitcher Aaron Rawl was named to the SEC Good Works Team.

Tolleson is one of two South Carolina players this season to have started all 56 games this year. One of three captains on this year’s squad, Tolleson is batting .293 on the year with six HR and 42 RBI. He also has 11 doubles to go along with a team-high 48 runs scored. Tolleson has hit five of six homers in conference play this year including a three-run walkoff homer last Saturday vs. Kentucky to seal the Gamecocks spot in the SEC Tournament.

For the second consecutive year, Steve Pearce leads the Gamecocks in batting average (.345), home runs (18) and runs batted in (54). Pearce has hit 10 of his 18 home runs in conference games and has three different times homered twice in one game. The senior from Lakeland. Fla., was named to the Golden Spikes Award Watch List as well as the Dick Howser Award Watch List.

Aaron Rawl is South Carolina’s representative this year on the SEC Good Works Team. The SEC sponsors a Good Works Teams for all 20 sports it sponsors. The Baseball Good Works Team represents 12 SEC athletes, one from each competing institution. The Good Works Team looks to highlight an athlete from each school who gives back to their community in superior service efforts.

Rawl has volunteered at Lexington Elementary School and for Home Works of South Carolina, an all-day project repairing homes of the elderly. He has also volunteered at the Heathwood Hall Elementary Fair, Christ Central Ministries homeless shelter and was a speaker to a Dixie Youth minor league team. Earlier this year, Rawl was named 2004-05 University of South Carolina Male Student-Athlete of the Year.

The 20th ranked Gamecocks return to action on Wednesday afternoon in their first game of the 2005 SEC Tournament. Carolina is seeded sixth and will play third seeded Tennessee at 1 p.m. CT.

2005 SEC AWARDSSEC PLAYER OF THE YEAR - Matt LaPorta, FloridaSEC PITCHER OF THE YEAR - *Luke Hochevar, TennesseeSEC FRESHMAN OF THE YEAR - J.P. Arencibia, TennesseeSEC SCHOLAR-ATHLETE OF THE YEAR - Jason Determann, LSUSEC COACH OF THE YEAR - Pat McMahon, Florida      * unanimous selection
FIRST TEAM1B - Matt LaPorta, Florida2B - Adam Davis, Florida3B - Chase Headley, TennesseeSS - Steven Tolleson, South CarolinaC- Josh Bell, AuburnOF - Ryan Patterson, LSUOF - Brian Pettway, Ole MissOF - Eli Iorg, TennesseeOF - Gabe Scott, AlabamaDH - Stephen Head, Ole MissP - Luke Hochevar, TennesseeP - Greg Smith, LSURP - John Madden, Auburn
SECOND TEAM1B - Steve Pearce, South Carolina2B - John Shelby, Kentucky3B - Chris Coghlan, Ole MissSS - Justin Tordi, FloridaC - Brian Jeroloman, FloridaOF - Jeff Corsaletti, FloridaOF - Clete Thomas, AuburnOF - Nick Stavinoha, LSUDH - Blake Gill, LSUP - Clay Dirks, LSUP - Jensen Lewis, VanderbiltRP - Connor Falkenbach, Florida
ALL FRESHMAN TEAM1B - Justin Henry, Ole Miss2B - Ryan Wilkes, Kentucky2B - Cale Iorg, Alabama3B - Brandon McArthur, Florida3B - Chris Jackson, LSUSS - Zack Cozart, Ole MissC - J.P. Arencibia, TennesseeOF - Julio Borbon, TennesseeOF - Antone DeJesus, KentuckyOF - Clint Arnold, ArkansasDH - Jordan Mayer, LSUDH - Joshua Fields, GeorgiaP - James Adkins, TennesseeP - Nick Schmidt, ArkansasRP - David Robertson, Alabama