Skip to main content
Partner logo
Mobile Icon Link Mobile Icon Link Mobile Icon Link Gamecocks+

Nov. 29, 2006

Two University of South Carolina soccer players, senior Mike Sambursky (Katy, Texas) and sophomore Mike Gustavson (Aiken, S.C.), were selected to the National Soccer Coaches’ Association of America (NSCAA) All-South Region first team, the organization announced Wednesday. Both players are now eligible for All-America consideration.

Sambursky, who served as a team co-captain in 2006, appears on the All-South Region first team for the second consecutive year. The senior led the Gamecocks in scoring each of the last two seasons, compiling 22 points on seven goals and eight assists in 2006. Sambursky was also recognized on the all-Conference USA first team in 2005 and 2006. He leaves Carolina having scored 62 career points and ranked eighth in school history with 22 assists. Sambursky becomes the 15th Gamecock to earn All-Region recognition more than once.

Gustavson, a goalkeeper, has played every minute of every game since stepping foot on campus in 2005. In 2006, he registered a 1.09 goals-against average to go with six shutouts and 70 saves. Gustavson, who competed for the United States Under-20 team during the summer of 2006, is a two-time all-Conference second-team selection. He is the only underclassman on the All-South Region first team.

During the soccer program’s 29 seasons, 38 Gamecock players have earned 59 All-South Region honors under head coach Mark Berson. In every season since 1983, at least one Gamecock player has appeared on the team. A total of 29 schools comprise the South Region, arguably the toughest region in the country. There are 33 student-athletes representing 19 schools on this year’s team. South Carolina’s pair of first-team selections is tied for most of any school.

2006 NSCAA All-South Region Teams

First Team
GK Mike Gustavson, South Carolina
D Michael Harrington, North Carolina
D Jonathon Leathers, Furman
D Julian Valentin, Wake Forest
M Scott Jones, UNC-Greensboro
M Ryan Solle, Wake Forest
M Mike Videira, Duke
F Jeremy Gold, College of Charleston F Mike Grella, Duke
F Dane Richards, Clemson
F Mike Sambursky, South Carolina

Second Team
GK Phil Marfuggi, Clemson
D Jay Ayres, Belmont
D Alan O’Hara, Clemson
D Andre Sherard, North Carolina
M Dominic Cianciarulo, Furman
M Sam Cronin, Wake Forest
M Richard Jata, Campbell
F Willy Guadarram, Campbell
F Tommy Krizanovic, Jacksonville
F Randi Patterson, UNC-Greensboro
F Kiki Willis, Elon

Third Team
GK Adam Webb, Georgia Southern
D Dirk Dittrich, Gardner-Webb
D Paul Pessina, Appalachian State
D Devon Sheppard, Campbell
M Jokull Elisabetarson, UNC-Greensboro
M Corey Leuger, Appalachian State
M Frederico Moojen, Clemson
M Shea Salinas, Furman
F Zack Boggs, Univ. of Central Florida
F John Cox, Georgia Southern
F Spencer Wadsworth, Duke
F Tanner Wolfe, Stetson