Skip to main content
Partner logo
Mobile Icon Link Mobile Icon Link Mobile Icon Link Gamecocks+

March 28, 2007

SPRINGFIELD, MA – Tre’ Kelley, a 6’0″ point guard from the University South Carolina, is the 2007 recipient of the Frances Pomeroy Naismith Award, presented annually by the Naismith Memorial Basketball Hall of Fame to the nation’s most outstanding male collegian 6’0″ and under who has excelled both athletically and academically. He is the first player from the Southeastern Conference to win the award.

“My thoughts on being in the group of guys that have received this award in the past, it’s just an honor to me,” said Kelley. “It definitely reflects the great season that I’ve had individually, and the great four years that I’ve had in my career as a South Carolina basketball player. I’m definitely proud of this award. It’s definitely something that I’ll be proud to go back and tell my family, my kids in the future, my friends about. It’ll be something that I’m definitely proud of. Those are great names to come behind to get an award like this. I’ve looked up to those guys in the past. I’ve looked for different moves, different skills, different things that they do on the basketball court, and to just come behind those guys is definitely an honor.”

Kelley led South Carolina in scoring this season at nearly 19 points per game and led the SEC in league games with more than 21 points per game. He scored 20+ points in 13 games and averaged over 5 assists per game. He scored almost 1,500 points and had over 500 assists for his career which was third all-time at South Carolina. This season he was named to the All-SEC first team for both the coaches and the AP. Kelley is the school record in games played and games started in a season (38) and finished second all-time in games played (134). He scored a school-record 36 points at Kentucky in February.

Kelley hails from Washington, D.C. and attended Dunbar High School where he averaged 29 points, 5 rebounds and 8.3 assists per game his senior year. He was a three time All-Conference and All-Metro. Kelley has been very active in the Columbia community volunteering his time at the Boys & Girls Club of America and Camp Kemo. His community service also includes traveling to the Dominican Republic as part of SCORE International and speaking to students in his hometown of Northeastern D.C. on the importance of staying in school.

“We are proud to honor Mr. Kelley with the 2007 Frances Pomeroy Naismith Award,” stated John L. Doleva, President and CEO of the Naismith Memorial Basketball Hall of Fame. “His success on the court and his achievements in the classroom as a student-athlete make him an admirable recipient. Mr. Kelly exemplifies the qualities this award is designed to celebrate.”

“Everyone is very excited that Tre’ Kelley has been named the F. Pomeroy Award winner this season,” said USC Head Coach Dave Odom. “Tre’ played at a very high level all year and overcame terrific odds physically. This national award recognizes his outstanding play and accomplishments. The award is highly coveted and I am proud of Tre’ and that he has been rewarded by the Basketball Hall of Fame for his commitment to college basketball. Tre’ is a player both Gamecock and SEC basketball fans will remember fondly for years to come.”

The Frances Pomeroy Naismith Award is named in honor of James Naismith’s daughter-in-law. A panel of representatives from the National Association of Basketball Coaches selects the recipient. To earn the award, the recipient must demonstrate leadership, character, loyalty, all-around basketball ability and excellence in the classroom.

Previous Winners of the Frances Pomeroy Naismith Award

1969 William Keller, Purdue University
1970 John Rinka, Kenyon
1971 Charlie Johnson, University of California
1972 Scott Martin, University of Oklahoma
1973 Robert Sherwin, Army
1974 Mike Robinson, Michigan State
1975 Monte Tow, North Carolina State
1976 Frank Alagia, St. John’s
1977 Jeff Jonas, Utah
1978 Mike Schieb, Susquehanna
1979 Alton Byrd, Columbia
1980 Jim Sweeney, Boston College
1981 Terry Adolph, West Texas State
1982 Jack Moore, University of Nebraska
1983 Ray McMallum, Ball State University
1984 Ricky Stokes, Univeristy of Virginia
1985 Bubba Jennings, Texas Tech University
1986 Jim Les, Bradley University
1987 Tyrone Bogues, Wake Forest University
1988 Jerry Johnson, Florida Southern
1989 Tim Hardaway, UTEP
1990 Greg Harvey, St. John’s
1991 Keith Jennings, East Tennessee State
1992 Tony Bennett, Wisconsin-Green Bay
1993 Sam Crawford, New Mexico State
1994 Greg Brown, University of New Mexico
1995 Tyus Edney, UCLA
1996 Eddie Benton, University of Vermont
1997 Brevin Knight, Stanford University
1998 Earl Boykins, Eastern Michigan University
1999 Shawnta Rogers, George Washington University
2000 Scoonie Penn, Ohio State University
2001 Rashad Phillips, Detroit
2002 Steve Logan, University of Cincinnati
2003 Jason Gardner, University of Arizona
2004 Jameer Nelson, St. Joseph’s
2005 Nate Robinson, University of Washington
2006 Dee Brown, University of Illinois
2007 Tre’ Kelley, University of South Carolina