Skip to main content
Partner logo
Mobile Icon Link Mobile Icon Link Mobile Icon Link Gamecocks+

Dec. 15, 2008

COLUMBIA, S.C. – South Carolina women’s basketball has already welcomed 70 South Carolina elementary schools into this year’s “Read with the Gamecocks” Program. Still growing in its 10th year, the program is an initiative to promote reading in elementary school children (K-5).

In the program, which runs from December 19 through January 2, each participant keeps track of his/her reading with his/her parents or guardians during the holiday break. At the end of the break, participants submit their results to their teachers, who then record the results and add them to the school’s total. A winner will be chosen from each school, and the overall winner from each grade will be recognized in the Dawn Staley Reading Heroes comic book.

“The number of participating schools has doubled since last year and applications are still coming in,” Dawn Ellerbe, University of South Carolina athletics director of marketing events, said. “The school coordinators have expressed how excited their students are to be in the program, and we are extremely pleased with the response to this year’s program and want to thank all the participating schools.”

For information on how your student can participate, please email Chanel Thomas at

Participating Elementary Schools
Ballentine Elementary, Irmo
Barnwell Primary School, Barnwell
Baron Dekalb, Camden
B-C Grammar School No. 1, West Columbia
Bethune Elementary, Bethune
Bioling Springs Elementary, Boiling Springs
Bishopville Primary, Bishopville
Braod River Elementary, Beaufort
Bluffton Elementary, Bluffton
Bufflao Elementary, Buffalo
Burnside Elementary, Columbia
Busbee Eleemtary, Wagner
Camden Elementary School of Creative Arts, Camden
Carolina Elementary, Hartsville
Carolina Springs Elementary, Lexington
Charleston Development Academy, Charleston
C. A. Taylor Elementary, Cayce
Cotton Belt Elementary, York
Congaree Elementary, West Columbia
Crowders Creek Elementary, Clover
Denmark Olar Elementary, Denmark
Doby’s Mill Elementary, Lugoff
Dutch Fork Elementary, Irmo
D.P. Cooper Elementary, Salters
East Cooper Montessori Charter School, Mt. Pleasant
Ebenezer Avenue Elementary, Rock Hill
Edisto Primary School, Cordova
Forest Lake Elementary, Columbia
Gilbert Primary, Gilbert
George I. Pair Elementary, West Columbia
Hannah Pamplico Elementary, Pamplico
Hollis Academy, Greenville
Hunter Street Elementary, York
Hopkins Elementary, Hopkins
Irmo Elementary, Irmo
Jefferson Elementary, Jefferson
Joseph Kells Elementary, Columbia
Knights Elementary, Summerville
Lake Carolina Elementary, Blythewood
Lemira Elementary, Sumter
Lonnie B. Nelson Elementary, Columbia
Lower Lee Elementary, Mayesville
Lugoff Elementary, Lugoff
Independence Elementary, Rock Hill
Manning Early Childhood Center, Manning
McBee Elementary, McBee
Meadowfield Elementary, Columbia
Minnie Hughes Elementary, Youngs Island
Monarch Elementary, Union
Mossy Oaks Elementary, Beaufort
Mt. Pisgah Elementary, Kershaw
North Augusta Elementary, North Augusta
North Hartsville Elementary, Hartsville
Pine Tree Hill Elementary, Camden
Pine Grove Elementary, Columbia
Pineview Elementary, West Columbia
Pleasant Hill Elementary, Lexington
Port Royal Elementary, Port Royal
Rivelon Elementary, Orangeburg
Shanklin Elementary, Beaufort
South Carolina School for the Blind, Spartanburg
Springdale Elementary, West Columbia
Walker Gamble Elementary, New Zion
Ware Shoals Elementary, Ware Shoals
W.B. Goodwin Elementary, N. Charleston
West Lee Elementary, Rembert
Whitesville Elementary, Monks Corner
Wood Elementary, West Columbia
Woodruff Primary, Woodruf
Varnville Elementary, Varnville