Skip to main content
Partner logo
Mobile Icon Link Mobile Icon Link Mobile Icon Link Gamecocks+

May 6, 2010

INDIANAPOLIS – Former Gamecock catcher Landon Powell earned one of 28 spots on the College World Series Legends team, the NCAA announced on Thursday.

A three-time participant in the CWS, Powell twice was named to the CWS All-Tournament Team, in 2002 and 2004. He had nine hits, six RBI and a home run as the Gamecocks played in the 2002 CWS Championship Game. A 2004 All-American and two-time All-SEC catcher, Powell plays for the Oakland A’s currently.

The NCAA and College World Series, Inc., put together this team as part of the commemoration of the final Series in Omaha’s Johnny Rosenblatt Stadium.

The 28 members of the Legends Team, pared down from an original list of 95 nominees, were selected after more than 100,000 votes were cast by college baseball fans, college baseball writers and Division I head baseball coaches. The members of the Legends Team are former student-athletes and coaches who had the best CWS performances throughout the 60 years the event has been played at Rosenblatt Stadium

Voting for the team was based solely on the former student-athletes’ performance when they were competing in the NCAA College World Series, and not for any regular season or post-collegiate performances.

Mississippi State’s Will Clark was the leading vote getter with more than 3,000 votes. Dave Winfield of Minnesota was the second leading vote getter with just under 3,000 votes.

“With the history of the College World Series and all the great players to have been involved in the event, it’s an honor to be named to the Legends Team,” said Robin Ventura, who led his Oklahoma State team to consecutive College World Series appearances in 1986 and 1987.

The 28 CWS Legends Team members will be invited to attend the final College World Series at Rosenblatt Stadium as guests of the NCAA. The members will be formally honored on-field during the CWS Opening Ceremonies on June 18, and invited to attend the first day of CWS competition on June 19. Mock baseball cards of each member featuring their collegiate photos will be posted on

“It’s a great honor,” said former Georgia Tech shortstop Nomar Garciaparra. “I’ve always believed that one of my favorite experiences in baseball was the College World Series. And now I look forward to working the games as a commentator for ESPN in June.”

A committee of select individuals from the National Baseball Writers Association, the Omaha World-Herald and NCAA staff was created to compose the original list of 95 nominees. This list included every former student-athlete who was voted onto a previous CWS anniversary team (25th, 50th and all-decade teams), as well as individuals who played in CWS in the last 14 years.

The utility players were determined by the oversight committee after the fan voting was completed. They represent those student-athletes who deserved recognition but did not garner enough votes at a particular position.

Tickets for the 2010 NCAA Men’s College World Series can be purchased by calling or logging on to For more information on the Legends Team and the 2010 Men’s College World Series, log on

The 28 members by name, school, position and year are:

Name Institution Position Year in CWS
Will Clark Mississippi State 1B 1985
Dustin Ackley North Carolina 1B 2007-09
Bob Horner Arizona State 2B 1976-78
Todd Walker LSU 2B 1993-94
Spike Owen Texas SS 1981-82
Nomar Garciaparra Georgia Tech SS 1994
*Darwin Barney Oregon State SS 2005-07
Sal Bando Arizona State 3B 1964-65
Robin Ventura Oklahoma State 3B 1986-87
*Pat Burrell Miami (Florida) 3B 1996-98
Fred Lynn Southern California OF 1971-73
Dave Winfield Minnesota OF 1973
Terry Francona Arizona OF 1979-80
Barry Bonds Arizona State OF 1983-84
Mark Kotsay Cal State Fullerton OF 1994-95
J.D. Drew Florida State OF 1995
Steve Arlin Ohio State P 1965-66
Burt Hooton Texas P 1969-70
*Eddie Bane Arizona State P 1972-73
Huston Street Texas P 2002-04
Jason Windsor Cal State Fullerton P 2004
Landon Powell South Carolina C 2002-2004
Ryan Garko Stanford C 2001-03
Pete Incaviglia Oklahoma State DH 1983-85
Brooks Kieschnick Texas DH 1992-93
Skip Bertman LSU Coach 1986-87, 89-91, 93-94, 96-98, 2000
Rod Dedeaux Southern California Coach 1951, 55, 58, 60-61, 63-64, 66, 68, 70-74, 78
Augie Garrido Cal State Fullerton / Texas Coach 1975, 79, 82, 84, 92, 94-95 / 2000, 02-05, 09

*Utility Players