Skip to main content
Partner logo
Mobile Icon Link Mobile Icon Link Mobile Icon Link Gamecocks+

Feb. 24, 2011

Former South Carolina softball standout Kim Pietro will be among the 12 participants in the Southeastern Conference Greats program at the 2011 SEC Women’s Basketball Tournament in Nashville, Tenn. Featuring former outstanding student-athletes from all 12 SEC member institutions, the 2011 class will be honored during the festivities over March 3-6 at Bridgestone Arena.

“We are excited to again showcase the talent and dedication in women’s athletics in the Southeastern Conference,” SEC Commissioner Mike Slive said. “Honoring these former standouts gives the conference the opportunity to thank those who helped establish the rich women’s athletic tradition in our conference.”

The 2011 class includes: Shalonda Enis, Alabama (Basketball); Delmonica DeHorney Hawkins, Arkansas (Basketball); Margaret Hoelzer, Auburn (Swimming & Diving); Muriel Page, Florida (Basketball); Tracy Henderson, Georgia (Basketball); Rachel Komisarz, Kentucky (Swimming & Diving); Jenny Lidback, LSU (Golf); Jackie Martin, Ole Miss (Basketball); Tiffany McWilliams-Dudley, Mississippi State (Track & Field); Kim Pietro, South Carolina (Softball); Melissa McCray Duke, Tennessee (Basketball); Candice Storey Lee, Vanderbilt (Basketball).

One of the all-time greats in SEC Softball, Kim Pietro was a first-team All-American and SEC Player of the Year for her senior season in 1999. Also a CoSIDA first-team Academic All-American that season, Pietro hit .419 with five home runs and 40 RBI while leading the Gamecocks to their second SEC Eastern Division crown. A three-time first-team All-SEC selection, Pietro also made three appearances on the SEC Academic Honor Roll. Pietro ranks among the top 10 in Gamecock softball history in batting average, runs, hits, doubles, triples, home runs, on-base percentage, slugging percentage, runs batted in and walks.

Each great will be honored during halftime of their respective school’s first game of the tournament. All 12 individuals will also be honored as a group between games of the second session on Friday, March 4. The Greats will then participate in an autograph session on the concourse before game eight on Friday evening. Complimentary posters of the greats will be available at the session.

This marks the 11th year of the Greats program. South Carolina’s previous honorees were: 2001 – Charmaine Howell; 2002 – Trinity Johnson; 2003 – Dawn Ellerbe; 2004 – Sheila Foster; 2005 – Shannon Johnson; 2006 – Kristy McPherson; 2007 – Lisa Misipeka; 2008 – Charlotte Hamilton Giese; 2009 – Allison Brennan; 2010 – Ashley Edlund Heidtke.