Skip to main content
Partner logo
Mobile Icon Link Mobile Icon Link Mobile Icon Link Gamecocks+

May 27, 2012

Columbia, S.C. –
South Carolina has been selected as one of the 16 regional host institutions for the 2012 NCAA Division I Baseball Championship as announced by the NCAA Division I Baseball Committee on Sunday afternoon. By virtue of being awarded a regional, South Carolina has been selected as an at-large to the 64-team field of the NCAA Baseball Tournament. South Carolina heads into the postseason with a 40-17 record. More information on the 2012 Columbia Regional will be released following the announcement of the 64-team field on Monday afternoon at Noon p.m. ET on ESPNU.

This will be South Carolina’s 28th overall appearance in the NCAA Division I Baseball Tournament. South Carolina is the back-to-back defending national champion after winning the College World Series in 2010 and 2011. South Carolina has reached 10 College World Series as well as nine NCAA Super Regionals. South Carolina’s 13 consecutive trips to the NCAA Baseball Tournament (2000, 2001, 2002, 2003, 2004, 2005, 2006, 2007, 2008, 2009, 2010, 2011, 2012) is the longest current streak of the 12 SEC schools.

This marks the 14th time in school history that the Gamecocks will host an NCAA Regional in baseball. Since the move to the Regional-Super Regional format, Carolina has hosted an NCAA Regional eight times (2000, 2001, 2002, 2004, 2007, 2010, 2011, 2012).

A limited number of NCAA Baseball Regional booklets are now available to the general public. A booklet includes tickets for all games in the Regional, which will be held Friday, June 1, through Monday, June 4. Booklets are available for $77 each and are sold on a first-come, first-serve basis. Fans purchasing the booklet will secure their actual seat locations at the time of the purchase.

Single game tickets for Regional games will go on sale Monday, May 28, at 10 a.m. Single game tickets will be sold for $15, but there is no guarantee on their availability.

To purchase Regional tickets, visit, stop by the Athletics Ticket Office in Colonial Life Arena at 801 Lincoln Street, or call 803-777-4274 or 800-4SC-FANS (800-472-3267). NCAA postseason regulations state that every person entering the stadium must have a ticket.

The 16 regional sites, with host institutions and records (through May 28) are as follows:
Baton Rouge, Louisiana – LSU (43-16)
Chapel Hill, North Carolina – North Carolina (44-14)
Charlottesville, Virginia – *Virginia (38-17)
College Station, Texas – *Texas A&M (42-16)
Columbia, South Carolina – South Carolina (40-17)
Coral Gables, Florida – Miami (Fla.) (36-20)
Eugene, Oregon – Oregon (42-16)
Gainesville, Florida – *Florida (42-18)
Gary, Indiana – Purdue (44-12)
Houston – Rice (40-17)
Los Angeles – *UCLA (41-14)
Palo Alto, California – Stanford (37-16)
Raleigh – NC State (39-17)
Tallahassee, Florida – *Florida State (43-15)
Tuscon, Arizona – Arizona (37-17)
Waco, Texas – Baylor (44-14)
*Teams that are playing today (Sunday, May 27).

The remaining at-large teams, top-eight national seeds, first-round regional pairings and site assignments will be announced at Noon (ET), Monday, May 28. The one-hour program will be shown live on ESPNU. The committee will set the entire 64-team bracket through both the super regionals and the first round of the Men’s College World Series, and will not reseed the field after play begins.

Selection of the eight super regional hosts will be announced on, Monday, June 4 at approximately 11 p.m. (ET).

There are 30 Division I conferences which will receive an automatic berth in the field of 64, along with 34 at-large selections. The 66th Men’s College World Series begins play Friday, June 15, at TD Ameritrade Park Omaha in Omaha, Nebraska.

Atlantic Coast 5 (Florida State, Miami (FL), North Carolina, North Carolina State, Virginia)
Pacific-12 4 (Arizona, Oregon, Stanford, UCLA)
Southeastern 3 (Florida, South Carolina, LSU)
Big 12 2 (Baylor, Texas A&M)
Big Ten 1 (Purdue)
Conference USA 1 (Rice)