Skip to main content
Partner logo
Mobile Icon Link Mobile Icon Link Mobile Icon Link Gamecocks+

May 29, 2012

COLUMBIA, S.C. – South Carolina senior pitcher Michael Roth was named SEC Baseball Scholar-Athlete of the Year, and junior first baseman Christian Walker earned first-team All-SEC honors, as the league announced its annual baseball honors on Tuesday.

A total of seven Gamecocks received recognition. Junior relief pitcher Matt Price was a second team All-SEC selection, while outfielder Tanner English, shortstop Joey Pankake and catcher Grayson Greiner made the All-Freshman Team. Roth and junior outfielder Evan Marzilli also garnered All-Defensive Team accolades.

Roth adds to his already lengthy list of honors for his efforts on the field and in the classroom, as he is also the 2012 SEC H. Boyd McWhorter Male Scholar-Athlete of the Year, one of 10 finalists for the Lowe’s Senior CLASS Award and is on the Golden Spikes Award watch list. A native of Greer, S.C., Roth made 15 starts for the Gamecocks this season and has compiled a 6-1 record, posting a 2.58 ERA and 75 strikeouts.

Walker, who is also on the Golden Spikes Award Watch List, leads the team in hitting for the second-straight year with a .328 batting average and 65 hits. He leads the team and ranks third in the conference in RBIs (51), on-base percentage (.456) and walks (41). He is also sixth in the SEC in slugging percentage (.551) and seventh in home runs (10). This marks the third-consecutive season Walker has earned All-SEC accolades, as he was named to the second team and earned All-Defensive honors last season and was an All-Freshman Team selection in 2010.

Price becomes a three-time All-SEC honoree as he was a first-team selection last season and garnered second-team honors in 2010. The Sumter, S.C., native was one of the best relief pitchers in the nation, recording 10 saves in 22 appearances, which ranks second in the SEC. He owns a 4-4 record with a 3.68 ERA and 74 strikeouts. Price is tied for the conference lead in fewest hits allowed (45) and fewest home runs allowed (one) and ranks second with an opponent’s batting average of .198.

English, Pankake and Greiner have all turned in stellar freshman campaigns for the Gamecocks. English is second on the team in batting average (.309) and is tied for second with 63 hits. He has also been on of the best in Garnet and Black on the bases, ranking second on the squad with nine stolen bases in 11 attempts.

LSU’s Raph Rhymes claimed SEC Player of the Year accolades, while Mississippi State’s Chris Stratton took the Pitcher of the Year honor. Kentucky’s Austin Cousino and Gary Henderson garnered the Freshman of the Year and Coach of the Year awards, respectively.

Coaches were not permitted to vote for their own players.

2012 SEC Baseball Awards

SEC Player of the Year – Raph Rhymes, LSU
SEC Pitcher of the Year – Chris Stratton, Mississippi State
SEC Freshman of the Year – Austin Cousino, Kentucky
SEC Scholar-Athlete of the Year – Michael Roth, South Carolina
SEC Coach of the Year
– Gary Henderson, Kentucky

First Team
1B – Christian Walker, South Carolina

2B – Alex Yarbrough, Mississippi
3B – Matt Reynolds, Arkansas
SS – Anthony Gomez, Vanderbilt
C – Mike Zunino, Florida
OF – Raph Rhymes, LSU
OF – Preston Tucker, Florida
OF – Taylor Dugas, Alabama
DH/UTL – Brian Johnson, Florida
P – Chris Stratton, Mississippi State
P – Kevin Gausman, LSU
RP – Steven Rodriguez, Florida

Second Team
1B – Matt Snyder, Mississippi
2B – Bo Bigham, Arkansas
3B – Curt Powell, Georgia
SS – Nolan Fontana, Florida
C – Luke Maile, Kentucky
OF – Austin Cousino, Kentucky
OF – Ryan Tella, Auburn
OF – Mason Katz, LSU
DH – Drew Steckenrider, Tennessee
P – Alex Wood, Georgia
P – Corey Littrell, Kentucky
P – Bobby Wahl, Mississippi
RP – Matt Price, South Carolina

All-Freshman Team
1B – A.J. Reed, Kentucky
2B – Will Maddox, Tennessee
3B – Josh Tobias, Florida
SS – Joey Pankake, South Carolina
C – Grayson Greiner, South Carolina

OF – Austin Cousino, Kentucky
OF – Tanner English, South Carolina
OF – Hunter Cole, Georgia
OF – Ben Moore, Alabama
DH/UTL – A.J. Reed, Kentucky
P – Aaron Nola, LSU
P – Tyler Beede, Vanderbilt
RP – Jonathan Holder, Mississippi State

All-Defensive Team

P – Ryan Eades, LSU
P – Kendall Graveman, Mississippi State
P – Michael Roth, South Carolina
1B -Dominic Ficociello, Arkansas
2B – Alex Yarbrough, Mississippi
SS – Nolan Fontana, Florida
3B – Matt Reynolds, Arkansas
C – Mike Zunino, Florida
OF – Evan Marzilli, South Carolina
OF – Taylor Dugas, Alabama
OF – Austin Cousino, Kentucky