Skip to main content
Partner logo
Mobile Icon Link Mobile Icon Link Mobile Icon Link Gamecocks+

Nov. 6, 2012

COLUMBIA, S.C. – A trio of Gamecock men’s soccer players have earned All-Conference USA honors, as released by the league office on Tuesday.

South Carolina junior forward Bradlee Baladez and sophomore midfielder Braeden Troyer were both named to the All-Conference USA Second Team, and senior defender Mike Mangotic earned third-team honors.

Baladez has garnered all-conference honors every year of his celebrated career in the Garnet and Black. The Dallas, Texas, native paced the Gamecocks in 2012 with four goals and three assists for a team-best 11 points. His 44 shots, including 20 on goal, were also team highs. Baladez scored his first two goals of the season at then-No. 5 Charlotte in early September, while also posting goals versus then-No. 9 Coastal Carolina and then-No. 25 Kentucky. Baladez was a 2011 C-USA first-team honoree, while he was an all-conference third team and all-freshman team selection in 2010.

Troyer earned all-conference accolades for the second-consecutive season, after earning third-team and all-freshman honors in 2011. Troyer posted three goals and one assist for seven points this season. Playing nearly every minute in 2012, he also had 15 shots on the year, with six on goal. The Columbia, S.C., native scored his first goal of the season versus then-No. 25 UAB in mid-October, before also posting scores against Marshall and Memphis. Troyer has eight career goals and one assist.

Mangotic earns the first postseason award of his career in the Garnet and Black. He was named to the 2009 Southern Conference All-Freshman team while competing at UNC Greensboro. The Maumee, Ohio, native scored one goal this season and was part of a defensive unit that collected five shutouts on the year. He concludes his Gamecock career with four goals and seven assists, while part of 17 shutouts.

Below is a complete listing of the all-conference awards:

Coach of the Year: Tim McClements, SMU
Players of the Year: Jaime Ibarra, SMU/Daniel Withrow, Marshall
Offensive Player of the Year: Mark Sherrod, Memphis
Defensive Player of the Year: Jaime Ibarra, SMU
Freshman of the Year: Cristian Mata, Tulsa

First Team
GK Daniel Withrow, Marshall
GK Jaime Ibarra, SMU
F Mark Sherrod, Memphis
F Cristian Mata, Tulsa
F Deshorn Brown, UCF
M Matt Lodge, Kentucky
M Liam Collins, Memphis
M Omar Mata, Tulsa
D Steven Perinovic, Kentucky
D Mladen Lemez, UAB
D Andrew Quintana, UCF

Second Team
GK Jack Van Arsdale, Kentucky
F Quentin Albrecht, FIU
F Tom Jackson, Marshall
F Tyler Engel, SMU
F Bradlee Baladez, South Carolina
F Kofi Gyawu, UAB
M Cameron Wilder, Kentucky
M T.J. Nelson, SMU
M Braeden Troyer, South Carolina
D Damien Rosales, SMU
D Aaron Simmons, SMU
D Darion Copeland, UAB
D Reed Matte, UAB
D Ben Hunt, UCF

Third Team
GK Mark Pais, Tulsa
F Tyler Riggs, Kentucky
M Daniel Gonzalez, FIU
M Devin Perkins, Marshall
M Andrew Morales, SMU
M Chase Wickham, UAB
M Fatai Alabi, UAB
M Omar Vallejo, UCF
D Joseph Dawkins, FIU
D Anthony Hobbs, FIU
D Dylan Asher, Kentucky
D Jordan Johnson, Memphis
D Mike Mangotic, South Carolina
D Tony Rocha, Tulsa

GK Robin Spiegel, FIU
F Cristian Mata, Tulsa
F Bryce Follensbee, Tulsa
F Karl Chester, UAB
F Ian Svantesson, UAB
M Daniel Gonzalez, FIU
M Quincy Thomas, Memphis
M John Lujano, SMU
D Jacob Speed, Kentucky
D Jack Hopkins, Marshall
D Michael King, SMU
D Bradley Bourgeois, Tulsa