Skip to main content
Partner logo
Mobile Icon Link Mobile Icon Link Mobile Icon Link Gamecocks+

Nov. 26, 2012

COLUMBIA, S.C. – Junior outside hitter Juliette Thévenin earned a spot on the All-Southeastern Conference second team, the league office announced today. Thévenin becomes the first Gamecock since 2008 to claim an All-SEC award, when Belita Salters garnered first-team accolades.

Thévenin led the Gamecocks and ranked second in SEC play with 4.40 kills per set and 4.81 points per frame and tallied a .265 hitting percentage in league action, 18th in the conference. This season, Thévenin recorded the second-most kills, kills per set and attacks by a South Carolina player in the rally-scoring era, finishing her third year on campus eighth in career kills and attacks.

“Juliette is completely deserving of this All-SEC honor,” said Gameock head volleyball coach Scott Swanson. “Her statistics this year speak for themselves. Juliette took a lot of swings for our team and carries us offensively night in and night out. Her maturity and leadership this year on the court was greatly appreciated, and we are thrilled she earned this honor.”

Florida claimed three of the SEC’s individual awards, with Chloe Mann taking the Player of the Year title, Ziva Recek the Freshman of the Year plaque and Mary Wise the Coach of the Year selection. Stephanie Klefot from Kentucky took her third-consecutive Libero of the Year award, and Amanda Anderson from Arkansas received the Scholar-Athlete of the Year recognition. The Gators had four first-team All-SEC selections and another on the second team, the most of any squad. League newcomers Missouri and Texas A&M both had three selections on the first and second teams combined.

South Carolina finished the 2012 season with a 18-14 overall record, the program’s second winning record in a decade and the first under Swanson in his second year.

2012 Southeastern Conference Volleyball Awards
(as voted on by the coaches)

Player of the Year: Chloe Mann, Florida
Libero of the Year: Stephanie Klefot, Kentucky
Freshman of the Year: Ziva Recek, Florida
Scholar-Athlete of the Year: Amanda Anderson, Arkansas
Coach of the Year: Mary Wise, Florida

First-Team All-SEC
Roslandy Acosta, Arkansas
Taylor Brauneis, Florida
Chloe Mann, Florida
Ziva Recek, Florida
Tangerine Wiggs, Florida
Whitney Billings, Kentucky
Lisa Henning, Missouri
Kelsey Robinson, Tennessee
Alisia Kastmo, Texas A&M
Lindsey Miller, Texas A&M

Second-Team All-SEC
Kayla Fitterer, Alabama
Jasmine Norton, Arkansas
Sarah Bullock, Auburn
Camila Jersonsky, Auburn
Betsy Smith, Florida
Stephanie Klefot, Kentucky
Molly Kreklow, Missouri
Whitney Little, Missouri
Juliette Thévenin, South Carolina
Tiffany Baker, Tennessee
Allie Sawatzky, Texas A&M

SEC All-Freshman Team
Liz Fortado, Arkansas
Ziva Recek, Florida
Jasmine Eatmon, Georgia
Sara Schwarzwalder, Kentucky
Nakeyta Clair, Mississippi
Ty Laporte, Mississippi
Roxanne McVey, Mississippi State