Skip to main content
Partner logo
Mobile Icon Link Mobile Icon Link Mobile Icon Link Gamecocks+

Dec. 2, 2013

COLUMBIA, S.C. — South Carolina senior outside hitter Juliette Thévenin added to her long list of accomplishments on Monday as she was named to the All-SEC Team, the conference office announced.

Thévenin, who was one of 18 student-athletes selected to the team by the league’s head coaches, turned in a stellar senior campaign, finishing the year ranked first in the SEC and 11th nationally in kills per set (4.57) and second in the conference in points per set (4.91). In conference matches only, Thévenin was second in the SEC in both kills (4.19) and points (4.55) per set. She finished the season with the second most kills (466) and second best kills per set average (4.57) in school history in the rally-scoring era.

“Jules has been our rock the past four years,” South Carolina head coach Scott Swanson said. “As a six-rotation outside hitter she carried a huge amount of responsibility. Jules became the leader and clutch player we knew she could be her last two seasons, and we are so proud of her for earning All-SEC honors again this season.”

A native of Mont-sur-Marchinne, Belgium, Thévenin will leave South Carolina as one of the most decorated players in school history. An SEC All-Freshman Team selection in 2010 and a second-team All-SEC selection last season, Thévenin finished her career in the top 10 in six career categories at South Carolina, ranking third in kills (1,590), second in kills per set (4.07), second in attacks (4,076), ninth in digs (1,012), fourth in points (1,744.5) and third in points per set (4.46). She became just the second Gamecock of record to have more than 1,000 kills and 1,000 digs in a career.

Missouri captured three of the SEC’s five individual awards, as setter Molly Kreklow was named Player of the Year, Carly Kan was named Freshman of the Year and Wayne Kreklow received Coach of the Year honors. Florida’s Taylor Unroe earned Libero of the Year accolades, while Auburn’s Camila Jersonsky was named Scholar-Athlete of the Year.

Player of the Year:
Molly Kreklow, Missouri
Libero of the Year: Taylor Unroe, Florida
Freshman of the Year: Carly Kan, Missouri
Scholar-Athlete of the Year: Camila Jersonsky, Auburn
Coach of the Year: Wayne Kreklow, Missouri

Krystal Rivers, Alabama
Meredith Hays, Arkansas
Camila Jersonsky, Auburn
Alex Holston, Florida
Chloe Mann, Florida
?iva Recek, Florida
Taylor Unroe, Florida
Brittany Northcutt, Georgia
Whitney Billings, Kentucky
Alexandra Morgan, Kentucky
Briana Holman, LSU
Lisa Henning, Missouri
Carly Kan, Missouri
Molly Kreklow, Missouri
Whitney Little, Missouri
Juliette Thévenin, South Carolina
Allie Sawatzky, Texas A&M
Shelby Sullivan, Texas A&M

Krystal Rivers, Alabama
Alex Holston, Florida
Anni Thomasson, Kentucky
Briana Holman, LSU
Kimmy Gardiner, Mississippi State
Carly Kan, Missouri
Jazzmin Babers, Texas A&M