Skip to main content
Partner logo
Mobile Icon Link Mobile Icon Link Mobile Icon Link Gamecocks+

May 27, 2014

COLUMBIA, S.C. – South Carolina junior pitcher Joel Seddon earned second-team All-SEC honors with junior outfielder Tanner English, junior catcher Grayson Greiner and junior third baseman Joey Pankake named to the SEC All-Defensive team, as the league announced its annual baseball honors on Tuesday.

Seddon leads the SEC with 14 saves with nine of the 14 vs. league opponents. He has been named to the NCBWA Midseason Stopper of the Year Watch List. He is 2-1 with a 0.85 ERA. He has limited opponents to just five runs, four earned, on 28 hits in 42.1 innings with 51 strikeouts to nine walks. Opponents are batting .189 against him. He is 14-for-15 in save opportunities. Seddon sits alone at seventh place on the USC Single-Season Top 10 save list. Seddon has not allowed a run in 22 of 25 relief appearances this year.

Greiner, a semifinalist for the Johnny Bench Award and on the Golden Spikes Award Watch List, has started 52 games behind the plate this year. He has committed just two errors and is fielding .995 while helping catch a pitching staff that put together a 2.37 ERA as well as 2.80 ERA in the 30-game SEC schedule, best in the league.

English has started all 58 games this year and been solid all season patrolling center field. English has 153 putouts with a pair of assists. Pankake moved to a new position this year and has played well at third base. Pankake has just eight errors and is fielding .932 for the season.

Coaches were not permitted to vote for their own players. The complete 2014 All-SEC Team follows:

SEC PLAYER OF THE YEAR – A.J. Reed, Kentucky
SEC FRESHMAN OF THE YEAR – Logan Shore, Florida
SEC SCHOLAR-ATHLETE OF THE YEAR – Seth Heck, Mississippi State
SEC COACH OF THE YEAR – Kevin O’Sullivan, Florida

1B – Sikes Orvis, Ole Miss
2B – Dansby Swanson, Vanderbilt
3B – Austin Anderson, Ole Miss
SS – Vince Conde, Vanderbilt
C – Taylor Gushue, Florida
OF – Auston Bousfield, Ole Miss
OF - Ka’ai Tom, Kentucky
OF – Christin Stewart, Tennessee
DH/UTL – A.J. Reed, Kentucky
P – Aaron Nola, LSU
P – Logan Shore, Florida
RP – Jacob Lindgren, Mississippi State

1B – Eric Fisher, Arkansas
2B – Brett Pirtle, Mississippi State
3B – Max Kuhn, Kentucky
SS – Alex Bregman, LSU
C – Will Allen, Ole Miss
OF – Ben Moore, Alabama
OF – Harrison Bader, Florida
OF – Nick Banks, Texas A&M
DH/UTL – Wade Wass, Alabama
P – Ross Mitchell, Mississippi State
P – Carson Fulmer, Vanderbilt
RP – Joel Seddon, South Carolina

1B – Peter Alonso, Florida
2B – JaVon Shelby, Kentucky
3B – John Sternagel, Florida
SS – Errol Robinson, Ole Miss
C – Gavin Collins, Mississippi State
OF – Nick Banks, Texas A&M
OF - Bryan Reynolds, Vanderbilt
OF – Andrew Benintendi, Arkansas
DH/UTL – Nick Senzel, Tennessee
P – Logan Shore, Florida
P – Keegan Thompson, Auburn
RP – Thomas Burrows, Alabama

P – Aaron Nola, LSU;
Carson Fulmer, Vanderbilt
1B – Eric Fisher, Arkansas
2B – Brett Pirtle, Mississippi State
SS – Seth Heck, Mississippi State
3B – Joey Pankake, South Carolina
C – Jake Wise, Arkansas;
Grayson Greiner, South Carolina
OF – Austin Cousino, Kentucky
OF – Tanner English, South Carolina
OF - Andrew Stevenson, LSU