Skip to main content
Partner logo
Mobile Icon Link Mobile Icon Link Mobile Icon Link Gamecocks+

April 27, 2015

COLUMBIA, S.C. – The South Carolina women’s golf team earned the No. 1 seed in the NCAA East Regional set for Raleigh, N.C., May 7-9. The 54-hole event will be held at the Lonnie Poole Golf Course. The field of 74 teams spread among four regional sites was announced on the Golf Channel Monday evening.

The selection is the program’s first No. 1 seed. The three other No. 1 seeds all hail from the Pac-12 in No.1 Southern California, No. 3 UCLA and No. 4 Arizona. Currently ranked No. 2 in the Golfstat Relative Rankings, the Gamecocks will be making their 17th consecutive regional appearance.

South Carolina is one of 11 SEC teams to receive a NCAA bid, with five conference foes landing in the East Regional. Of the 18 teams in the region, 13 are ranked in the Golfstat Top 50. The region’s top 25 teams include No. 2 South Carolina, No. 7 LSU, No. 10 Mississippi State, No. 15 Northwestern, No. 18 Florida and No. 24 Central Florida.

The top six teams at each of the four regionals will advance to the NCAA Championships at the Concession Golf Club in Bradenton, Fla., May 22-27.

Under the leadership of head coach Kalen Anderson, the Gamecocks won the program’s first-ever regional title in 2010 and took home another in 2012. Last season, South Carolina claimed second place at the NCAA East Regional in Tallahassee, Fla., to advance to the NCAA Championship for the fifth-straight year.

This year marks the 22nd overall NCAA Regional appearance for the Gamecocks. South Carolina has advanced to the NCAA Championship 14 times, including six during Anderson’s tenure.

After another historic season, the Gamecocks will look to keep the momentum going. The Gamecocks have finished in the top five at all nine of their stroke play events this season, including two wins and a second-place result at the SEC Championships. South Carolina claimed its first No. 1 ranking after capturing a season-opening win at the ANNIKA Intercollegiate.

May 7-9 • Lonnie Poole Golf Course • Raleigh, N.C.

1. South Carolina
2. LSU
3. Mississippi State
4. Northwestern
5. Florida
6. Central Florida
7. Furman
8. Alabama
9. Iowa State
10. Ohio State
11. North Carolina State
12. Georgia Regents Univ.
13. Coastal Carolina
14. Campbell
15. College of Charleston
16. Seton Hall
17. Wichita State
18. Fairleigh Dickinson

1. Juliet Vongphoumy, Maryland
2. Jessica Welch, Jacksonville
3. Frida Gustafsson Spang, East Carolina
4. Genevieve Ling, Boise State
5. Manuela Carbajo Re, Georgia
6. Ashley Burke, South Florida