Skip to main content
Partner logo
Mobile Icon Link Mobile Icon Link Mobile Icon Link Gamecocks+

Nov. 25, 2015

COLUMBIA, S.C. – Gamecock volleyball’s Aubrey Ezell was recognized Wednesday morning by the SEC as a member of its seven-woman All-Freshman team. The team’s first-year setter has been a steady presence in her first season at Carolina, as the only member of the team who has started in every match and has not missed a single set. She is the first Gamecock to make the All-Freshman team since Juliette Thevenin in 2010.

“We are extremely proud of her, no one has worked harder to deserve this award,” head coach Scott Swanson said.

Entering the final weekend of the season, Aubrey has the most double-doubles by a Gamecock freshman in 20 years, with 17 (sixth-most in a single season in program history). That total is also tops in the SEC this season. She leads the league in aces per set and ranks sixth in the SEC in assists per set. Among all freshmen in the NCAA, she ranks sixth in assists per set and seventh in aces per set.

In the program’s record books, she ranks fourth in program history for a single season in total assists (1105) and assists per set (10.42). Her 45 aces rank fifth in a single season in program history, and her 0.42 per set is fourth highest.

The Granbury, Texas native still has two more matches to climb to even more unprecedented heights. The Gamecocks will play at Arkansas Wednesday night, then wrap up the 2015 season at Missouri Sunday night.

Player of the Year: Stephanie Aiple, Texas A&M
Libero of the Year: Ashley Dusek, Kentucky
Freshman of the Year: Alyssa Munlyn, Missouri
Scholar-Athlete of the Year: Stephanie Campbell, Auburn
Coach of the Year: Laurie Corbelli, Texas A&M

All-SEC Team
Kat Hutson, Alabama
Krystal Rivers, Alabama
Pilar Victoria, Arkansas
Rhamat Alhassan Florida
Simone Antwi, Florida
Mackenzie Dagostino, Florida
Alex Holston, Florida
Živa Recek, Florida
Morgan Bergren, Kentucky
Kaz Brown, Kentucky
Ashley Dusek, Kentucky
Nakeyta Clair, Ole Miss
Carly Kan, Missouri
Kira Larson, Missouri
Alyssa Munlyn, Missouri
Stephanie Aiple, Texas A&M
Jazzmin Babers, Texas A&M
Shelby Sullivan, Texas A&M

All-Freshman Team
Okiana Valle, Arkansas
Breanna McIlroy, Auburn
Brooke Morgan, Kentucky
Kathryn Cather, Ole Miss
Alyssa Munlyn, Missouri
Aubrey Ezell, South Carolina
Erica Treiber, Tennessee