Skip to main content
Partner logo
Mobile Icon Link Mobile Icon Link Mobile Icon Link Gamecocks+

April 28, 2016

COLUMBIA, S.C. — Redshirt sophomore Gabriel Friedrich of the South Carolina men’s tennis team was named to the All-SEC Second Team, the league office announced Thursday afternoon. It marks the first all-conference selection for Friedrich and the ninth all-conference award for South Carolina under head coach Josh Goffi.

“I’m happy that Gabriel was recognized by the SEC coaches for his success and leadership this season, ” head coach Josh Goffi said. “It’s a great start to his career as a Gamecock, and we are all looking forward to him getting back out there and being a major contributor again next season.”

Friedrich is currently ranked No. 55 in the ITA Rankings after completing his first dual-match season for the Garnet and Black. Playing at the top of the lineup, the Brazilian accumulated an 8-11 dual-match record and a 5-7 SEC mark highlighted by an impressive four-week stretch from March to April in which he won six of nine matches, including wins over the No. 18, No. 44, No. 54 and No. 88 players in the nation. Friedrich showed flashes of his potential this fall as he went 10-5 in tournament play capped off with a USTA Clay Court title at the ESPN Wide World of Sports in Orlando, Fla.

In doubles, Friedrich has posted a team-leading three SEC wins while going 9-11 overall this spring. After being paired with teammate Harrison O’Keefe in April, the duo went 5-3 at the top of the lineup with wins over the No. 24 and No. 19 tandems in the nation, leading a resurgence in doubles play for Carolina and launching the tandem up the doubles rankings to No. 41.

Player of the Year: Diego Hidalgo, Florida
Co-Freshman of the Year: Alfredo Perez, Florida; Ryotara Matsumura, Kentucky
Scholar-Athlete of the Year: Rishab Agarwal, Mississippi State
Coach of the Year: Bryan Shelton, Florida

First Team All-SEC
Mike Redlicki, Arkansas
Diego Hidalgo, Florida
Elliott Orkin, Florida
Gordon Watson, Florida
Wayne Montgomery, Georgia
Austin Smith, Georgia
William Bushamuka, Kentucky
Gustav Hansson, Ole Miss
Mate Cutura, Mississippi State
Arthur Rinderknech, Texas A&M
Shane Vinsant, Texas A&M
Daniel Valent, Vanderbilt

Second Team All-SEC
Korey Lovett, Alabama
Mazen Osama, Alabama
Jose Salazar, Arkansas
Alfredo Perez, Florida
Paul Oosterbaan, Georgia
Ryotaro Matsumura, Kentucky
Justin Butsch, LSU
Jordan Daigle, LSU
Stefan Lindmark, Ole Miss
Rishab Agarwal, Mississippi State
Nuno Borges, Mississippi State
Gabriel Friedrich, South Carolina
Luis Valero, Tennessee
Cameron Klinger, Vanderbilt

Alfredo Perez, Florida
Walker Duncan, Georgia
Nuno Borges, Mississippi State
Mazen Osama, Alabama
Ryotaro Matsumura, Kentucky
Cameron Klinger, Vanderbilt