Skip to main content
Partner logo
Mobile Icon Link Mobile Icon Link Mobile Icon Link Gamecocks+
Thornwell Unanimous Selection To AP All-SEC First Team
Men's Basketball  . 

Thornwell Unanimous Selection To AP All-SEC First Team

March 7, 2017

COLUMBIA, S.C. – University of South Carolina senior guard Sindarius Thornwell was a unanimous selection to the Associated Press All-SEC First Team, the organization announced on Tuesday afternoon. The AP honor marks the first of Thornwell’s career.

Thornwell has had an outstanding season thus far in 2016-17, posting double-digit points in every game of the season, which includes 15 20-point outings, with 11 of those in SEC action. He has led or shared the team lead in scoring 17 times, in rebounding 11 times, in assists 11 times and in steals 16 times. Thornwell fell just short of the overall SEC scoring title, but led the league in scoring in strictly conference games with 22.1 points per game. He ranks second in overall games at 21.2 points per game, he is sixth overall in rebounding (7.3 rpg) and leads the SEC and ranks 14th nationally with 2.2 steals per outing. He lifted his averages in league play in rebounds per game (7.5) and steals per outing (2.4) as well. His season averages of 43.9 percent from the floor, 39.1 percent from 3 and 84.1 percent from the free throw line, along with his points, rebounds, steals and minutes per game marks are all career highs.

South Carolina has earned the No. 4 seed in this week’s SEC Tournament and will face either No. 5 seed Alabama, 13th-seeded LSU or No. 12 seed Mississippi State in quarterfinal action on Friday at approximately 3:30 p.m. ET. The contest will be televised on the SEC Network with Joe Tessitore, Sean Farnham and Kaylee Hartung on the call.

Below is a complete listing of the AP SEC awards:

u-Malik Monk, Kentucky, G, 6-3, 200, Fr., Lepanto, Arkansas
u-Sindarius Thornwell, South Carolina, G, 6-5, 211, Sr., Lancaster, South Carolina
J.J. Frazier, Georgia, G, 5-10, 155, Sr., Glennville, Georgia
De’Aaron Fox, Kentucky, G, 6-3, 187, Fr., Houston, Texas
Sebastian Saiz, Mississippi, F, 6-9, 240, Sr., Madrid, Spain

KeVaughn Allen, Florida, G, 6-2, 183, Fr., Little Rock, Arkansas
Moses Kingsley, Arkansas, F, 6-10, 230, Sr., Abuja, Nigeria
Yante Maten, Georgia, F, 6-8, 240, Jr., Pontiac, Michigan
Robert Williams, Texas A&M, F, 6-9, 237, Fr., Oil City, Louisiana
Bam Adebayo, Kentucky, F, 6-10, 260, Fr., Little Washington, North Carolina

Player of the Year — Malik Monk, Kentucky
Coach of the Year — Mike White, Florida
Newcomer of Year — Malik Monk, Kentucky
u – indicates unanimous selections