Skip to main content
Partner logo
Mobile Icon Link Mobile Icon Link Mobile Icon Link Gamecocks+
Thornwell Named To NABC District 21 First Team
Men's Basketball  . 

Thornwell Named To NABC District 21 First Team

March 22, 2017


COLUMBIA, S.C. – The National Association of Basketball Coaches (NABC) announced the 2016-17 NABC Division I All-District teams and coaches on Wednesday morning. SEC Player of the Year Sindarius Thornwell was selected to the District 21 First Team. It is the first career All-District honor for the standout senior guard.

In 28 games this season, Thornwell has averaged 21.4 points per game, 7.3 rebounds, 2.9 assists and 2.2 steals. He most recently led the team to its first NCAA Tournament win in 44 years, posting a double-double with 29 points and 11 rebounds in a 93-73 victory over Marquette in the First Round. He then scored 24 points, grabbed six rebounds and dished out five assists in the team’s Second Round upset of second-seeded Duke to lead the team to its first Sweet 16 berth in the current NCAA Division I Men’s Basketball Championship format. Thornwell is the all-time leader in games started at South Carolina at 128. He currently ranks in the top-five in program history in points (5th – 1,852), steals (5th – 193), free throws made (4th – 539) and 3-point field goals made (4th – 177). He recently moved into the top-10 of the all-time assist list and currently ranks ninth with 385.

Thornwell was stellar in conference games in 2017 as he led the SEC in scoring during league play, averaging 22.1 points per game. In addition to earning conference player of the year, he was a unanimous All-SEC First Team selection by both the coaches and the Associated Press. The Lancaster, S.C., native, was also named to the USBWA (U.S. Basketball Writers Association) All-District III Team.

The NABC All-District teams and coaches are selected and voted on by member coaches of the NABC in NCAA Division I, representing the finest basketball players and coaches across America. Michael Carrera was named to the NABC District 21 Second Team last season.

The Gamecocks square off with third-seeded Baylor (27-7) in the Sweet Sixteen at Madison Square Garden on Friday night. Tipoff is set for 7:29 p.m. ET, with Verne Lundquist (pxp) Jim Spanarkel (color) and Allie LaForce (sideline reporter) on the call for TBS.

NABC All-District 21 Teams
Mike White, Florida

Sindarius Thornwell, South Carolina
Malik Monk, Kentucky
De’Aaron Fox, Kentucky
Yonte Maten, Georgia
J.J. Frazier, Georgia

Sebastian Saiz, Mississippi
KeVaughn Allen, Florida
Moses Kingsley, Arkansas
Tyler Davis, Texas A&M
Robert Hubbs III, Tennessee